Skip to content

Healing Meme Questionnaire Thingy

July 14, 2011

So, most every healer on my WordPress blog feed is suddenly filling out this healing questionnaire meme, (despite the fact that it’s two years old!), so I guess I’ll jump on the bandwagon too.

The original meme is from Miss Medicina, and the following bloggers on my blogroll recently filled it out: Analogue, Repgrind, Chatmay and koalabear21.

I’m also supposed to tag someone else.  I think the only healer I know well enough to ask who hasn’t already filled this out is Minstrel.  I don’t know if he’ll want to fill out a meme though.  (Also, he might say that he hates healing with Druids, and that would make me sad.)

The Rules:

Post this questionnaire, with your answers, on your blog. Pick the healing class you know most about (or is the focus of your blog) for the questionnaire, and then send it over to another healing blogger you know and love who heals with a DIFFERENT class. Include a link to the blogger who sent you the questionnaire, as well as a link to the blogger to whom you are sending it.

1. What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

Kashina, Druid, Resto.

2. What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

10-man raids primarily, but also 5-man heroics.

3. What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

Oh, wow… I have so many that I love, I can’t choose just one.

Wild Growth is a great spell – how can you not love instant cast, AoE HoTs?  Tranquility is also amazing in Cataclysm since it’s been buffed and put on a short CD.  I love hitting Tranq and watching the entire raid fill up to full health.  Swiftmend + Efflorescence is awesome too, since it gives us a large, instant burst heal on a 15 second CD, (and that type of heal was sorely missing from our toolbox pre-Cata), followed by a strong AoE HoT.

4. What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Regrowth.  It’s just too expensive now to use unless combined with an Omen of Clarity proc.  However, it should still be used at least once a minute to get benefit from the Nature’s Grace talent, and sometimes people just need a quick emergency heal.

5. What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

Healing on the move is still our biggest strength, even though we spend more time casting direct heals now than we did before.  Our other strength is sheer healing throughput.

6. What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

The typical Resto Druid weakness is lack of damage mitigating cooldowns.  We can’t prevent damage, we can only heal through it, which is less efficient.

However, recently I’ve been more annoyed with another issue: We generate an insane amount of healing aggro and have no aggro reducing abilities.  Because we use HoTs, any adds that spawn are going to instantly aggro onto us and eat our faces.  Since we don’t have a fade or bubble to dump aggro, our only options are to pop Barkskin (which helps, but raid adds hit like trucks, so it often isn’t enough), use Nature’s Grasp (which requires the adds to hit us in order for them to be rooted in place, which can be dangerous), and kite them around while healing ourselves until the tank picks up the adds (which interferes with our other healing assignments while wasting mana/heals on ourselves).  This makes life more difficult for the tanks, and is incredibly annoying for me.  I mean, it’s not like I can just decide to not use HoTs…  WTB aggro dump!

7. In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

Raid healing.  Druids can tank heal in Cataclysm, but in 25 man there would probably be Paladins and Disc Priests around who would be even better at it.

8. What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

This question (and the next question) is worded a bit ambiguously and I’ve seen people interpret it as asking, “What healing class do you prefer to play”.  However, I think that it’s really asking what other healing class do you like to play alongside.

I love to play with Disc Priests.  I love the shiny, damage mitigating bubbles!  The mitigation Disc Priests provide is a nice complement to my own throughput healing, and I really notice the difference if we don’t have one in the group.

9. What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

Hmm… this one’s tough… I’ve played with Disc Priests, Holy Pallies and Resto Shaman a lot, and I like working with all of them.  I don’t have much experience with having a Holy Priest in my group, so I’m not really sure how well we’d play together.

I suppose healing with another Druid would be the least optimal, especially in a 10-man setting, because we’d be trying to fill the same healing niche.  There wouldn’t be enough variation in cooldowns or other abilities available.

10. What is your worst habit as a healer?

Sometimes I really want to use an ability like Swiftmend or Wild Growth when there’s still 2-3 seconds left on the cooldown, and then I sit there mashing that button for 2-3 seconds instead of choosing a different ability to cast while I wait.  >.<

11. What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

Hmm… I don’t think I have many pet peeves…

I suppose I hate when people run out of range or line of sight, especially when I’m raid healing fights where everyone is spread out all over the place.  Warrior tanks seem to do this a lot… they’ll Charge or Heroic Leap out of range just as I’m about to refresh Lifebloom on them.  Grrr…  The Beth’tilac fight is also really irritating for this since there’s always at least 3 people out of range because they’re on top of the web.  I see the little red bars and I want to heal them, dammit!

12. Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

Yes, it is.  Each healing class has its own strengths and weaknesses, and they all complement each other very well.

13. What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

If the boss died and we lived!  More specifically, if my assignment lived and I managed to get out of avoidable damage.  Recount is useful but can be misleading: tank healers will often have lower hps than raid healers, and Druids will often have higher hps/overhealing because of the nature of our heals, while other classes may have more absorbs.  As long as all the healers are about comparable in hps – no one consistently too low – then there’s probably no slackers.

Our healing team also discusses strategy and analyses what is or is not working.  If one of us would be better suited to a particular assignment, we’ll change things up.  We try to figure out why someone died and ‘fess up to our mistakes if we make them.  Communication and a willingness to take suggestions is very important.

14. What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

That Druids can’t be tank healers.  I held this misconception myself, until I was forced to become a tank healer.  Druids are actually decent tank healers now, and it’s great to be able to fill any role.

15. What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

Dealing with all the timers.  We have a ton of HoTs to watch and maintain, each with their own unique duration.  Refreshing Lifebloom every 10 seconds is very important, Wild Growth has an 8 second CD, Swiftmend a 15 second CD, our new Mastery buff lasts 10 seconds and must be constantly refreshed by casting direct heals, Nature’s Swiftness is on a 3 minute CD (which can be reduced if you’re using the Glyph of Healing Touch), Innervate, Tree of Life and Tranquility are all on 3 minute CDs, and Rebirth is on a 10 minute CD.

Is it any wonder that I don’t like trinkets with on use effects?  I don’t want to have to watch another CD timer.

16. If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

Probably high heals per second (especially if raid healing), and I wouldn’t be surprised if I was top in overhealing too.

17. Haste or Crit and why?

This meme is 2 years old, so this question doesn’t ask about Mastery, but I’m going to add it to the list.

Druids generally want Haste up to the most reasonable break point at which our HoTs gain an extra tick.  (I wrote a post dealing with Haste breakpoints in detail, so I won’t go into it again.)  After that point we want Mastery.  Crit is a better stat than it used to be, but it still lags behind the others.

18. What healing class do you feel you understand least?

Resto Shaman.  Despite the fact that I raided Tier 11 with a Resto Shaman they are still shrouded in mystery for me.  I’ve healed with Disc Priests and Holy Pallies for years, have leveled a Holy Pally and am in the process of leveling a Holy Priest, so I know the other classes pretty well.

One of these days I’ll level my poor Shaman bank alt and rectify this situation.

19. What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

  • Healbot for raid frames and click-to-heal functionality.
  • Decursive for removing debuffs.
  • Need to Know for watching timers.
  • Death Note for figuring out why someone died.

I used to have a couple of macros, but recent changes have made them obsolete.  Maybe I should make an “Oh shit, I have aggro on the adds” button that combines Barkskin and Nature’s Grasp…  I think they might both be on the GCD though.

20. Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

I feel like this question is similar to number 17, but here goes.

I want as much Intellect as I can get on my gear because it gives spellpower, a larger mana pool, and a bit of crit.  After that I want enough Spirit to get me through encounters; right now that seems to be about 2200 Spirit.  Then I want enough Haste to reach the Wild Growth/Efflorescence breakpoint (which is 2005 Haste raid buffed, 1573 Haste with Dark Intent).  Once the Haste goal is reached, I want as much Mastery as possible.  I don’t gear for Crit at all, and usually reforge it into a more useful stat.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 3:10 pm

    I think dealing with all the timers is the main reason I have been reluctant to level either of my druids as healers. The whole keeping HoTs up thing is just .. so foreign and unnatural to me when compared to how my paladins work.

    • July 14, 2011 3:30 pm

      After a while you get a feel for how long the timers are, so you start to just refresh or use abilities without looking at the timer. I can see how it could be really intimidating or unnatural to someone just picking up the class though.

  2. July 14, 2011 3:16 pm

    What ended up happening is someone rezzed this meme to see how healing has changed in Cata from when it was asked during Wrath.

    Druids do have an aggro drop; it just requires you to shift to cat form and cower.

    • July 14, 2011 3:26 pm

      If I cower I’m not healing though… Which can be very bad when I’m tank healing. It only reduces threat by 10% too, unlike Fade which reduces your threat to zero for the duration. When I have insta-aggro on spawning adds I doubt the 10% reduction in threat would get them off me.

      • July 14, 2011 3:30 pm

        LOL I didn’t say it was a GOOD one ;-)

      • July 14, 2011 3:31 pm

        I thought you might be joking, but figured it deserved a serious answer anyway.

        But common, even kitty druids don’t use cower! It’s much more effective to just stop attacking for a couple GCDs. :P

  3. July 14, 2011 10:54 pm

    I play a holy priest (for those who don’t know me and why would ya), and my favorite healing partner back in the day was a resto drood. But part of that was just that we work well as a team; I could always count on him to have my back.

  4. July 15, 2011 8:58 am

    My resto druid is only level 58, but I have been shadowmelding to drop aggro. Can you not do this in a raid?

    • July 15, 2011 9:29 am

      LOL only if you are a nelf druid.

      When my druid faction changed from nelf to tauren that was what I missed the most.

    • July 15, 2011 12:37 pm

      Koala already answered this, but yeah… Night Elves are the only ones who can use Shadowmeld to drop aggro. I’ve honestly considered going Alliance just in order to get Shadowmeld, but all my friends are Horde and I’d lose all my Argent Tournament stuff if I faction changed. It also seems a bit ridiculous that I’d have to resort to a faction change and play a specific race just to fix the problem. (If I did play an Alliance Druid I’d rather be a Worgen, which wouldn’t help.) If it’s a class issue then Blizzard should give the class a fix.

      So just be thankful that you had the good luck or foresight to roll an NE Druid. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

