Skip to content

The Spirit Kings Have Been Deposed

October 17, 2012

Well, we spent four hours wiping on Spirit Kings on Monday, but then we blitzed through the first three bosses and one shot Spirit Kings on Tuesday, so I guess all the wiping was worthwhile.  We completely forgot to take a screenshot, so here is a portrait of the bosses cobbled together from images that were shamelessly stolen from Wowpedia.

I don’t know how many tricks and tips I can offer for this boss.  The encounter changes depending on the order the bosses randomly activate, with some orders being more difficult to deal with than others.  Originally we had heard that it was easiest to get Meng second, so that you’d get all the stacking phases out of the way.  However, we found that dealing with Meng’s Maddening Shout for the rest of the encounter while trying to spread out for the other mechanics was really quite difficult.  We found it much easier if Meng was the last active boss.

Our ideal boss order, (and the order we had on our killing attempt), is as follows, along with a few notes on each boss.

Qiang the Merciless

You don’t really have much choice about this one, as Qiang always activates first.  We found that positioning him was easier and less dangerous if we waited until he patrolled to the far side of the room so we could all run to the middle and stack up before pulling him.  If the tank runs in first and pulls without enough people stacked around him there’s the chance that people will die to Massive Attacks.

We also put raid markers on four “corners” of the room.  This allowed our tank to call out which direction he was moving in to avoid Flanking Orders, making it easier for us to move as a group.

Whenever Qiang cast Annihilate we just ran through the boss.  Every second Annihilate we made sure to move back to the middle of the room to make it easier to get away from Flanking Orders.

Subetai the Swift

Subetai is the easiest of the four, in my opinion.  Just make sure you are all spread out before he casts Pillage or Rain of Arrows.  Pillage is easy to run out of, so you shouldn’t have many people getting the Pillaged debuff.

Certain abilities like Hand of Freedom and Blink will break you out of Rain of Arrows.  (Sadly, shifting forms doesn’t work for Druids.)  Otherwise, just DPS down the arrows quick to free the Pinned person.

Volley is the most dangerous ability he uses.  It’s a cone effect, so the closer you are to the boss the easier it is to move out of it.  I found that Volley never lines up with any of the other abilities, so it’s safe to stand next to other people if you need to get closer to the boss to avoid Volley .  Just remember to spread out again immediately afterward.

Zian of the Endless Shadow

The Undying Shadows that Zian summons are fairly irritating to deal with and take precious DPS away from the boss, so we found it best to get this boss third.  We had people kite the adds to a designated side of the room so all the void zones were dropped in the same place.  This made it both easier to avoid the void zones and to DPS the adds down once we had 2-3 of them up.  The adds took longer to kill than we expected, so we had all ranged switch to them when they were alive.  Just make sure you don’t have overzealous casters killing the adds before they’re safely off to the side.

Once Zian is dead all the extra adds will disappear, (without leaving void zones behind!), so if he’s close to death you might as well ignore the last adds.  After his death you should only have to deal with one add at a time for the rest of the encounter.

Meng the Demented

This boss was the one we found to be the most difficult to deal with.  The tank damage didn’t seem to be much of an issue, but dealing with Maddening Shout and Cowardice took some practice.

Everyone needs to stack up for Maddening Shout, and then you need to quickly deal 40k friendly damage to each person in the raid.  This is trickier than it sounds.  For one thing, you have to be very careful not to apply DoTs to each other.  (DK diseases, Rogue poisons, etc are all very bad.)  I’m actually not entirely sure how our DPSers ended up dealing with this… I think our Mages hit Arcane Explosion and our DKs used Blood Boil.  Our Warlock may have done something too, I’m not sure…  (Sorry, I’m a healer.)  >.>

Anyway, Maddening Shout is also dangerous because while players are hostile to each other they are taking shadow damage every three seconds — and healers can NOT heal someone who is hostile.  This means that people need to be at high health before each Maddening Shout, otherwise the combination of friendly fire and DoT damage might kill them before they become healable again.  Players should be prepared to use personal cooldowns or healthstones if necessary.  Healers should save the AoE heals for after the effect is broken, otherwise they will be wasted.

Reading the Icy Veins description of Cowardice it sounded like a portion of the damage dealt to the boss would be reflected back to the entire raid, but this is not the case.  Instead, a portion of the damage is reflected back to the individual who dealt the damage.  This means that it is entirely possible for a DPS player to kill themselves on the boss.  Taking too much reflected damage can also destroy the healer mana pools.  So be careful!  Each DPS player should monitor their own health during Cowardice and slow/stop DPS as necessary.  Once the boss is at about 60% insanity DPS should probably stop until Cowardice is over.

Random Closing Comments

So, I swear that raiding is not the only thing that I’ve been doing these days.  There’s just so much to do in-game right now that I’d rather play than write about playing, you know?  Though a lot of my in-game time really is dedicated to grinding stuff out for raiding…  But I have some transmog outfits I haven’t had a chance to post yet, and random comments about other things too!  *sigh*  Maybe tomorrow I’ll try to post about other things before raid.  If I get my dailies done in time.  Stupid life-destroying dailies…

Two more raid nights this week, and only two more bosses to get down.  Can we do it?  I sure hope so!  It would be awesome to be able to start heroics next week.  I probably shouldn’t get my hopes up too high though… I hear that Elegon is pretty tough.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 8:12 pm

    Grats! I wonder where there is time to do dailies and get ready for raid… especially when all those real life things pop in as well! Good luck on Elegon!

    • October 17, 2012 8:23 pm

      Well, in my case, I’m unemployed, so I am spending WAAAAAY too much time in-game recently. >.>

      But mostly I’ve just prioritized. I realized that there’s no way to earn VP fast enough to buy all the rep gear if I open everything right away, so I’ve decided to only focus on one faction at a time. (A decision made easier by the fact that I’d already gotten Klaxxi and Golden Lotus to revered when I realized this.) I’ve also prioritized my main far above any of my alts, and I’m trying to avoid the distraction of pet battles as much as possible. (And not always succeeding…)

      I figure that once my main is settled in there will be more time for the bonus/cosmetic stuff, like alts, Anglers dailies, pet battles and transmog. No need to do everything all at once. :)

  2. Geeni permalink
    October 18, 2012 8:47 am

    I’ve been enjoying your raid guides, so I don’t mind if that’s all you get around to posting! We don’t start until next week, but I have them flagged for future reference. 8)

    • October 18, 2012 12:48 pm

      Thanks, Geeni! I hope some of my tips prove helpful for you. :)

  3. October 18, 2012 2:11 pm

    Grats! 3 nights a week! I am jealous, i miss raiding that much!

    • October 18, 2012 3:57 pm

      Well, the Crits raid is gonna be on Saturday nights … ;)

    • October 18, 2012 4:49 pm

      This is the first time I’ve been in a guild that raids three times a week, so it’s a step up in commitment for me! I’m really enjoying it though. The fights are a lot of fun, and it feels like more progress gets made over three nights rather than two.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

