Skip to content

Fishing Trawler: A Crazy Suggestion

March 14, 2011

I raid, therefore I fish.

All the best raid buff food, for all classes, is made from fish.  If you want buff food, then you have to either level up fishing or shell out a lot of gold on the AH to buy food farmed up by someone who has leveled up fishing.  The reason for this seems obvious to me: Fishing is the most boring profession ever devised, and no one would bother with it unless it was so important that people would have to do it.  And Blizzard loves to find new ways to make us spend time doing not-fun things so that we can get to do the fun things we actually want to do.

The biggest problem with fishing, in my opinion, is that I can’t really do anything else while fishing.  At least if I’m on a 10 minute flight path I can tab out or read a book or something.  At least if I’m herbing or mining I have to keep my brain engaged while flying around, finding nodes and stealing herbs from Allies.  (Hi!  Tauren bird can has herbs?  KTHX BYE, LOL!)*  But fishing requires me to sit staring at the screen, watching my lure or listening intently for the splash-a-fish-is-hooked sound so that I can click on a fish every few seconds.  It’s boring because it takes no skill and doesn’t engage my mind at all.

What’s even worse is that all the best buff-fish for Cataclysm are fished in open water, while the guild achievement to unlock the guild fish feast requires you to catch 10,000 fish out of pools.  Quite frankly, after staring at my fishing lure for 20 minutes so that I can have two stacks of buff food for the week, I do NOT want to then fly around doing extra fishing from pools.  I just can’t bring myself to do it because there are so many other things I’d rather be doing with my time.

So, the other day my mind was wandering while doing my tedious fishing and I started to wonder…  Why on earth are the citizens of Azeroth still catching fish the old way, one fish at a time?  Why haven’t we discovered nets yet?  Why haven’t the goblins or gnomes mechanized fishing and turned it into a full scale industry?

Then I came up with a crazy idea that would make fishing so much better:  Fishing trawlers!  Wouldn’t it be awesome to be able to buy a boat that you could use to fish up multiple stacks of fish at once?

Here’s how I think it could work:  It would require max level fishing and exalted rep with a certain faction.  (In Wrath the obvious choice would have been theKalu’ak, but in Cataclysm maybe the Bilgewater Cartel and Gnomeregan would do.)  It would be a luxury item, so it should cost a substantial amount of gold, at least the same amount as the Traveler’s Tundra Mammoth, so let’s say around 20,000 gold.  You could only use it in oceans, lakes or rivers, which would prevent people from trying to farm up multiple stacks of Volatile Fire from the little lava pools in Twilight Highlands.  On use, it would deploy as a vehicle pathing around the water for maybe 10 minutes, catching random fish of whatever kind are normally found in that body of water, at the rate of about 1 stack a minute.  That would provide 200 fish in ten minutes, and while it was running it would be possible to tab out, read a book, cook some food, clean the house, or do whatever else you wanted.  It could be on a very long cooldown – even if I could only use it once a week I would still buy it!

Having a [Fishing Trawler] would be a huge quality of life increase for those of us fishing for buff food.  I would take my trawler to the coast of the Twilight Highlands and run it, hopefully catching two stacks of Deepsea Sagefish so I could have buff food for the week.  Then I might actually be willing to spend another 20 minutes fishing the old fashioned way in pools to help contribute to our guild achievement.

Ah well.  A tree can dream.

* Please note: I do not actually like to gank nodes from other people.  I think that it’s ridiculous that I can steal an herb that someone else got to first, just because I herb faster than they do.  If I see someone going for a node I try to fly on to the next one.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:41 pm

    I lol’ed at the first line. Too true.

    The problem with the idea here is the price: it means that only people with the 20k would realistically be able to compete on the market for fish. If you didn’t have this, you’d be putting in 10x as much work if you were comercially fishing and you’d be edged out of the market.
    That’s what occurred to me, anyway.

    • March 14, 2011 4:43 pm

      That’s true, which is why I think it would have to have a really long cooldown and not provide too many fish. I’d want it to be an awesome convenience for those of us who only really fish up enough for ourselves every week, but not be so completely overpowered that it creates a fish market monopoly or lowers the prices on the AH too much. It would have to be properly balanced, for sure.

      Thanks for commenting! 😀

  2. March 14, 2011 4:20 pm

    Okay, I love crazy ideas as much as the next person, but this IS truly crazy! So therefore: I LOVE IT!

    I would made a few modifications. It can’t be automatic, to easy. It needs a 1 day cooldown or something else slightly annoying to prevent “over-fishing”. It needs a CREW! You should have your friends come with! Place nodes in the ocean that are only trawler accessable. Have one person drive, one person toss nets, and to two people retrieve nets. That way it would be more interactive. 😀

    But I like where this is going!

    • March 14, 2011 4:23 pm

      You could have the trawler be a guild thing too, so the fish go immediately to the guild bank.

    • March 14, 2011 4:50 pm

      OMG, a trawler crew would be too hilarious! Can you imagine the advertisements in Trade chat? “LFM to crew trawler! Get your fish today! Sagefish reserved.”

      Even if it didn’t require a crew, making fishing into a more interesting mini-game would be totally awesome. I know a fun profession is a totally radical concept for Blizzard though. LOL

      I think it would have to have a long cooldown so it wouldn’t be overpowered. I suggested a week long cooldown, so that I could use it every week for buff food. It couldn’t generate too many fish either, because that could drive the price of fish on the AH down too much.

      Making it a part of a guild achievement might help to balance it, but part of the reason I want it is because the current guild achievement for fishing is so horribly irritating to get. I’d hate to see what hoops Blizz would make us jump through to get a trawler achievement…

      • March 24, 2011 10:16 pm

        Make it with a one-day cooldown like the five mans and then have it be something you have to be in a 5man party to work. I like the idea of having a crew. It would be like “Deadliest Catch.” Blizzard needs to get on this, stat!

  3. March 14, 2011 5:13 pm

    Nice idea! They did say that fishing was supposed to be made better for Cata.

    But then they said we would have dance studios in Wrath too . . .

    • March 14, 2011 7:21 pm

      I’m pretty well known among my friends for having crazy ideas. My theory is that if I have enough of them eventually one will also be a GOOD idea! I’m glad you like this one. 😀

      I still want my dance studio! Even though it might be a little greedy since I have a different dance for each of my Druid forms. But I want it anyway.

    • March 17, 2011 2:26 pm

      I want to dance like Beyonce–as a male priest!

      • March 24, 2011 10:17 pm

        I just want to stop having to dance the Macarena. It wasn’t cool when it was “cool.”

  4. AtomicDragon permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:23 pm

    If people are concerned an expensive trawler would gather fish at an unfair rate, maybe the more intermediate act of trolling for fish should be used instead. More importantly, this would be a public service message reminding people that internet verb is not named after the creature.

    • March 14, 2011 9:38 pm

      LOL, I’d forgotten that the term “internet troll” originally came from fishing!

      Trolling for fish –> trolling for a reaction –> being an internet troll

      That adds a whole new layer to this idea. Thanks for reminding me. XD

  5. March 15, 2011 8:37 am

    Great idea! It does boggle my mind that they decided to set it up that way…

    “So, you want feast? 10,000 fish from pools! Oh… you want to raid while you’re getting your fish? No pools for you! Bwahahahaha.”

    I admit, I have only so much time lately, and my main goal is to get my Deepsea Sagefish above anything else. If I find a spot where lady RNG is blessing me with more than my fair share of ’em, then I’m not moving. =D

    • March 15, 2011 10:39 am

      Thanks! 😀

      I really wish they’d just put all the fish in pools. It would make fishing so much less painful.

  6. March 15, 2011 12:58 pm

    Anything that would make fishing less painful is a plus in my opinon! Pretty unique idea here, which made me think of something even simpler I’m suprised they haven’t already done… Why haven’t they made an engineering fishing pole yet? It could reduce the max time to catch a fish by half which would also be a very welcome bonus! I like your idea more though since it would be more fun then fishing even with my engineering pole idea.

    • March 15, 2011 1:24 pm

      That would be an awesome item for engineering! Reducing the time I have to spend fishing in half would be most a welcome improvement.

      Or with goblin engineering you could make fishing bombs that you throw into the lake and dead fish just float to the surface! You could right click on them to pick them out of the water. XD

      • March 15, 2011 1:27 pm

        They already have those. You can make them as a low level engineer.

      • March 15, 2011 1:40 pm

        Really?!?! OMG, I totally have to level my mage’s engineering now! XD

      • March 15, 2011 1:45 pm

        I am pretty sure about that. Or I could be remembering a quest reward. >.>

      • March 17, 2011 10:06 am

        There was a Booty Bay quest that gave you “Goblin Fishing Poles,” which were just dynamite. Still funny, though.

  7. March 15, 2011 1:22 pm

    Aww now that would be nice! 😀
    Although I have to disagree on it being the most boring profession ever. I hate flying around searching for nodes or herbs, because watching the minimap while moving so quickly really hurts my eyes. When fishing, I just turn on auto-loot, turn the sound very high and the music off, read some blogs or else on my notebook while having my mouse on the bobber, ready to right-click when I hear the sound. To me that’s less annoying than gathering, but both could really use an overhaul.

    • March 15, 2011 1:34 pm

      Well, farming is pretty boring in general, I agree. Actually, I’m really short on herbs at the moment, but I haven’t been able to force myself to go farming. I have an alchemist and a scribe, so I should really get my act together. LOL

      That’s a good idea about using your notebook to surf other sites while fishing. I used to have a dual monitor set up, but when I moved I couldn’t ship my big old CRT monitor, so now I just have one. I do have a netbook that I could use though… Why didn’t I think of this before?

  8. March 15, 2011 5:06 pm

    Lets step it up a notch. When you are on the trawler you have a chance of getting attacked randomly by pirates or goblins or crazed DETA agents!

    • March 15, 2011 9:40 pm

      Ha! Great idea! D.E.H.T.A. would definitely object to the mass murder of tasty fish!

    • March 17, 2011 2:25 pm

      I love the idea of DEHTA agents showing up. That is so awesome.

  9. March 24, 2011 10:14 pm

    What a kickass idea! Oooh, they even have a river boat already available in the game. You could just make it so it was able to be used anywhere as opposed to only in Thousand Needles.

    • March 25, 2011 12:39 am

      Thanks! Unfortunately, I don’t think Blizzard will ever hear of this idea. But it would be pretty awesome if they did.

Trackbacks

  1. New Blog Roundup | MMO Melting Pot

Leave a Reply

