Skip to content

Chimaeron is Dead!

March 17, 2011

Woot!  That two headed monstrosity is finally down!  *Does the happy tree dance!*

Raiding has gone better this week than last week.  We’re still having issues with the one tank not showing up though.  Thankfully our raid leader, who has been playing as Holy Pally, geared up her tanking spec so that she could step in if necessary.  Healing is a new thing for her anyway, as she used to tank during Wrath, so it might be better for her to tank in any case.

On Wednesday we dropped all of our farm bosses – Magmaw, Omnitron, Maloriak, Atramedes, Halfus and Argaloth – so we had all night tonight to work on Chimaeron.  Our healing roster was a bit less than ideal… since our Pally was tanking that left us with two Druids and a Shaman.  I was really worried because everything I’ve read about the fight says that Druids are a terrible choice as raid healers for that fight, and I had major problems with it when I tried it.  But our second Druid stepped up to the plate and did some amazing healing, so I guess that shows what I know.  I was on tank healing duty and I did a pretty good job too, if I do say so myself.

We got a few attempts in on Nefarian/Onyxia, but didn’t even get to phase two.  We were trying to have one tank on each boss while our hunter and mage attempted to round up and kite the adds, but the adds kept killing the kiters and then turning around and killing me.  I got killed by Nefarian a few times as well… I have a lot of healing aggro, apparently.  However, it was fun to try the fight at least.  Onyxia’s zombie model is incredibly cool.  I wish I could walk around her to get a better look without her aggroing on me.

So now we have to decide whether to work on Nefarian or go kill more of the bosses in Bastion of Twilight.  We haven’t even tried the twin drakes yet because we’ve been focusing so much on Blackwing Descent.  A lot of people want to push for Nefarian because he drops tier tokens, but I think it might be better to get more bosses on farm so we can have more access to loot and Valor points.  What do you guys think?

I’m also concerned about recruiting more tanks.  So far I’ve only had two applications, neither of them any good.  I submitted our recruiting blurb to WoW Insider, but there’s been no response.  If our Holy Pally switches to tank that also leaves us with only three healers, and no Pallies or Priests.  I’m not too thrilled about that…  I’d like to have more healing options.  There seems to be a real shortage of healing priests on our server – I’ve seen a lot of guilds trying to recruit one.

I’m pretty tired, so I hope this post was coherent.  With any luck I’ll have Part 2 of my recruiting article written for tomorrow.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 12:56 am

    Congratulations! 🙂 Chimaeron is a really fun fight, although I much prefer tank healing to raid healing. HOWEVER, if you must raid heal, Glyph of Regrowth is sick-nasty awesome because of the change to below 50% health. Even if you aren’t raid healing, I find it more than adequate for the second tank while I am tank healing.

    Twin dragons in BoT is fun too! We got it on our fourth try, it honestly seemed very forgiving. That is, all of the abilities and cooldowns that you have to watch out for are either not so hard to avoid, or forgiving enough that you can heal through it. Of course, since our first kill we’ve had a couple fluke kills where it’s me, a tank, and one dps bringing it home. Results may vary >_>

    Good luck with your guild recruitment 🙂

    • March 18, 2011 10:39 am

      Thank you! That was pretty much my tank healing strategy: Throw Regrowth on the main tank and let it perpetually renew due to Glyph of Regrowth, and throw an extra Rejuv on the main tank if Regrowth has a few low ticks in a row. Meanwhile I cast big heals on the double strike tank while using wild growth on the raid when possible. As long as I make sure that Regrowth doesn’t fall off the main tank after a stacking phase it works really well.

  2. March 18, 2011 10:43 am

    On Nef we have our dps warrior tank the adds. He does such a good job that they die and he has time to dps the dragons.

    We were in the same position as you with wanting to push with Nef because of the tokens, and frankly that fight in phase 2 is INSANE for heals. The amount of damage is so high that they are nerfing it in 4.1.

    We finally had to give up our dream of taking him down until we got more gear for our raiders. It just wasn’t doable for us with 90% of the raid in heroic blues.

    • March 18, 2011 12:08 pm

      We don’t have a dps warrior, or any plate dps for that matter. For melee we usually have two rogues (and sometimes a kitty, which is practically the same thing), and then we have hunters, mages and warlocks to choose from for our ranged dps. And by “choose from” I mean that we have one hunter, one warlock, and a handful of mages. We might have to look into crowd control options for the adds, I dunno.

      I was going to say that most of our team is in purples now, but then I looked them all up and realized that holy crap, we’re still wearing a lot of blue gear! I still have 4 blues on myself. I really am starting to think it would be better to try the other bosses first… Ultimately not my decision to make though.

      • March 18, 2011 12:11 pm

        Ouch, yeah you will most likely have to CC the mobs, which will unfortunately take away from people being able to dps down Ony & Nef.

        Just remind the powers that be that the Nef fight is the hardest fight for T11, excluding heroics.

        It took a lot of wipes for the powers that be in my guild to get that through their skulls.

      • March 18, 2011 1:12 pm

        I’m not too worried about our ability to dps down Ony… On one attempt we had her at 50% health before Nef even landed and her electric bar thingy had barely moved… We spent some time explaining to our dps that while nuking Ony is fun, it’s also important to deal with the adds and Nefarian. It’ll take some time to get the balance right, I’m sure.

      • March 18, 2011 1:17 pm

        Well the problem isnt burning her down, it is getting him down low enough before you burn her down.

        Cause in phase 3 it becomes a race, and if he doesn’t have enough health burned down in the first two phases then you are going to be SOL in phase 3.

        You need him to crackle at least twice (he does it at every X% (90, 80 etc) preferably 3 times in phase one. I think the way our RL explained it was 3, 2, 3 for the phases. Each time he crackles, her bar fills up. Ideally you will want to push him to just under 70% when you down her.

        We made the mistake of burning her down too fast. As soon as she dies you go into phase 2 and that one is insane.

      • March 18, 2011 1:59 pm

        Yeah, that’s what we were trying to explain to our dps who just wanted to burn Ony. We were like, “You can’t! We need to get Nef’s health down first!” Sometimes I wonder if they even bother to watch the strat guides. Even when we gave them 15 minutes of raid time to do so…

  3. March 18, 2011 1:21 pm

    It’s kind of a shame that old-school Nefarian isn’t a “real” encounter anymore, because that fight was WICKED AWESOME FUN. Especially after every hunter call–there was ALWAYS someone who said “oh motherf–I forgot a grey . . .”

    On the other hand, the new encounter sounds pretty nifty as well. I do miss raiding, alas. If you’ll pay for a server transfer and faction change, I’ll come be your holy priest 😉

    • March 18, 2011 2:01 pm

      If I could pay for you it would be very tempting! Let’s make a deal – you find me a job and I’ll pay for your server transfer, k? LOL

  4. March 18, 2011 2:08 pm

    As far as the nefarian vs. other bosses go I think you should go for the other bosses first, nef is a really hard fight and you don’t want people to get frustrated wiping when you still have bosses left to kill and loot to get. Even better would be maybe something like spend X amount of time working on bastion of twilight, then X amount of time on nef (so you still get attempts in but are progressing) but that would highly depend on how much time is available for your raids. Grats on your kill though and good luck continuing!

    • March 18, 2011 3:00 pm

      That’s a good idea, I’ll have to suggest it to our raid leader. We only raid two nights a week though, so that’s usually only one night a week for progression.

Leave a Reply

