Skip to content

The Mini-Jousters are an Atari Reference!

March 19, 2011
tags: , ,

I was browsing around the internet this morning and came across this article: Five video game commercials that time (sadly) forgot. To my surprise and delight the very last commercial is for an Atari game called Joust, where you ride pixelated bird jousters around and gain altitude by flapping your wings. “OMG,” I exclaimed to myself! “This is just like the quest in Mount Hyjal that rewards the mini-jouster pet!” I had no idea that quest was a reference to something. I even had an Atari as a kid, (yes, I’m old), and I didn’t know this game existed.

In other news, I’ve been using nested comments on this blog, but this theme indents each additional comment in a thread to an extreme degree. By the time a fourth comment has been added to a thread, the comment is ridiculously skinny. Since I haven’t paid for the Custom CSS package here my options are: a) change the theme, b) limit the amount of nested levels, or c) not use nested comments at all. I think I’m going to limit them to three for now… but let me know if you think it would be better to just not use nested comments at all.

Also, I know that my “How to be a Good Recruit” posts are obscenely long. I didn’t realize how much I had to say on the topic until I started writing. I’m sure that the last one in particular caused people to say “tl;dr”, for which I apologize – especially since I’m sure the people who might need to read such a guide are the people least likely to bother reading one. I suppose those posts are more like a recruiter’s rant against the many frustrations of recruiting than anything else. So, I’ll write the last in the series to get it out of my system and then move on to other things. (A better article to write may be “How to be a Good Recruiter“, but I don’t know if I’m really qualified to write that one…)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 5:54 pm

    Oh god, I have so many ideas for your “Good Recruiter” post. Seriously. My old guild was a clusterf*ck of recruiting fail.

    Incidentally, how PG do you want the language in the comments? Because I swear like a sailor, as you well know.

    • March 20, 2011 6:40 pm

      Well, I did set the blog rating to G, though maybe I should increase that to at least PG. I mean, I myself am known to swear on occasion.

      Also, I just realized that I have an English professor and an English major reading my blog. All my spelling and grammar mistakes are going to be pointed out to me, aren’t they? 😦

      If you want to brainstorm ideas with me for a “Good Recruiter” post, or maybe even write a guest post, that would be cool with me.

  2. March 24, 2011 10:59 am

    If you do not remember Joust, I am not really convinced you had an Atari. 😉

    • March 24, 2011 1:40 pm

      Well, see, my family was poor as dirt, so I didn’t get an Atari until it had already been out for a while. My parents found one at a garage sale one day and bought it for me. It came with a bunch of games and peripherals and, well, those were the games I played. If a game wasn’t in that garage sale bag, I didn’t own it. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. New Blog Roundup | MMO Melting Pot

Leave a Reply

