Skip to content

A Successful Retro-Raid!

April 3, 2011

Finally!  Our guild supposedly runs Retro-Raids on weekends, where we do old content for achievements, mounts or just for fun.  Only we’ve been forgetting to schedule them or haven’t been promoting them well enough to get attendees.  Well, this weekend I said we should do one even if we have to pug to get enough people.  We said we were going to run them, so we will run them, dammit!  And not only did we find enough guildies but we didn’t have to pug at all!

Sarth 3D is a total joke at 85.  Even with only 7 people – 1 tank, 1 healer, 5 DPS – we managed to kill him before the first flame wall.  I think we could totally 5-man the fight at this point, (the 10-man raid anyway).  There are still quite a few guildies who need the Black Drake, so I’m sure we’ll be doing this fight for a while.  Then we can hopefully start doing the 25-man version so I can finally get my Twilight Drake too.

Ulduar was a great success.  I personally got 24 achievements from the run!  I missed out on my Rusted Proto-Drake though, because our leader accidentally talked to Bran Bronzebeard instead of to the Lore Keeper of Norgannon, so the Flame Leviathon wasn’t on hard mode when we killed it.  Oh, well.  It should be easy enough to get that achievement out of the way next time.

The Yogg fight is still a pain because it’s impossible to out-gear the mechanics in phase 2.  Only three people in our group had ever even fought Yogg before, and I think I’m the only person who had the One Light in the Darkness achievement.  So we wiped and wiped and wiped some more, and finally got him down!  We got the Alone in the Darkness achievement too, for good measure.

Our next stop was Algalon.  Again, I was the only person who already had the Starcaller title, though I’m not sure it really counts since I didn’t get it until I was level 85…  Anyway, the Algalon fight is really, really easy now.  Health pools at level 85 are so large that you can pretty much ignore all the mechanics and just tank n’ spank the boss down.  We one-shot it, despite the fact that 9/10 raid members had never seen the fight before.  So, with new titles proudly displayed overhead, we all ported to Dalaran to turn in the quest item and watch the stars appear above the city.  Which is, you know, much less impressive now that we’re level 85 and Dalaran is a ghost town… but still!  It was a good feeling.

Now I just have to work on convincing people that they want to go back to ICC.  I only need one more achievement – Full House – for my 10-man ICC drake!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 10:54 am

    Congratulations! I love me some classic raids! I actually had a dream about Sarth 3D last night. I stood in flame wall in the dream and was totally angry with myself! Nightmares…

    • April 5, 2011 12:58 pm

      Ha! I’ve had WoW dreams too! Maybe having a nightmare about standing in fire is the WoW equivalent of the actor’s nightmare where you find yourself on stage but don’t remember your lines.

  2. April 5, 2011 11:17 am

    Grats! I don’t have any of those late Wrath achievements . . . I quit too early. I suppose I could get them now, but that would require logging on occasionally.

    • April 5, 2011 12:56 pm

      Logging on is, indeed, a prerequisite for getting achievements. Unless they ever add an achievement for not playing, which might be a good way to encourage certain people to get some fresh air. LOL

Leave a Reply

