Skip to content

4.1: Lining my Bags with Gold and New Pets! Also, I Have Too Many In-Game Goals…

April 28, 2011

So far I haven’t had much opportunity to run the new ZA and ZG.  On Tuesday I got home around 10:30 pm, and by the time I had logged in all my guildies were already in dungeons.  After giving myself a new spec I decided to just queue for a random troll dungeon, despite the cries of agony and tales of woe I was hearing from the guild groups.  Let me just say that I must be one damn lucky tree.  Not only was there a healer Call to Arms when I queued, but I got a group in progress on the last boss of ZA, which we then one-shot.  Yeah, that’s right – my first troll dungeon pug took less than 10 minutes and I got 140 Valor Points and a goodie bag to boot.  (The goodie bag had 90 g and two Mythical Mana Potions in it.)

Yesterday afternoon I decided to queue for a random troll dungeon again, since there was only one other guildy online and I didn’t know if we’d have time to put a guild group together before raid.  Although my fellow guildy swore that I was the most foolhardy glutton for punishment they had ever seen, I queued up anyway.  Once again I lucked out: I got an awesome Zul’Gurub group that had three people from a guild on another server and one person from my own server.  Everyone was well geared, skilled and friendly, and we managed to get through the entire instance without problem.  We killed every boss on the first or second try and only had a few wipes on trash.  I also got another goodie bag containing 93 g.  Do I like the Call to Arms?  Well, the jury is still out, as I don’t know if it’s reducing queue times and otherwise fulfilling its purpose.  But I do like the whole “lining my pockets with gold for queuing as I would normally queue anyway”.  Muahahaha!

I’ve also collected two new pets that were introduced for 4.1.  The Panther Cub is the reward for finishing the new Zandalari quest chain in Stranglethorn.  (The quests also provide a substantial gold reward, so really you should go do this chain if you haven’t already.)  There’s also a cute little Winterspring Cub available from a vendor in the Everlook inn for 50 g.  Do not pay inflated AH prices for the cub!  It’s available from a neutral vendor in an easy to access city, so there’s no reason to pay more than the vendor price.  And it’s so cute!  I’m going to have to grind the Winterspring Frostsaber mount on my Worgen Hunter and buy her the pet so she can have a matching set.

Apparently there’s also a new raptor pet available in ZG, but you have to have completed the low level baby raptor quest chain in Stranglethorn first.   Once you’ve done that, you can pick up the quest chain in ZG that lets you “free” the raptor from the trolls and then keep her as your own.  Of course, when I discovered this, I just had to do the quest chain!  One of my guild leaders was also online at the time, and we did the quest chain together.  It was so much fun!  For the last quest you play as the baby raptor as she attempts to escape from ZG, learning new abilities from the other raptors and avoiding capture by the trolls.  Such an awesome quest!  And we were such cute baby raptors!  There was a lot of girlish giggling and squealing over vent as we completed it, LOL.  I have yet to go back to ZG to complete the chain and get the pet, but hopefully I can do that soon.

Speaking of pets, it seems that Blizzard made some changes to non-combat pets in this patch.  My pets are now much better at following me around when I fly over something or go through portals.  Even if I log out they will often reappear at my side when I log back in again.  It’s not a perfect system, as sometimes a pet will disappear for a while and then suddenly appear again the next time you go to a city or something.  They also look a little silly trying to follow you through the air while you’re flying.  However, I think I like the change overall.

In other news, there are too many things that I want to do in game.  While I understand that some people are bored and burned out because they feel like they’ve accomplished everything already, I have not nearly reached that point.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t start playing until late Wrath, so I still have a lot of old content to work on.

This morning I made a list of game goals because I keep feeling like I’m forgetting to work on things.  Well, I don’t think it’s forgetting so much as just not having enough time to do everything…  Here is my list:

  • Things to do on my Alts:
    • Finish leveling my Worgen Hunter to 85.  (She’s 70 at the moment.)
      • Once my Worgen is leveled, level up my Mage.  Or maybe my Shaman.  Or maybe a Priest…
    • Level up fishing on my Death Knight, by fishing in pools so it counts toward the guild achievement.
    • Gear up my Holy Paladin.
  • Things to do on my Main:
    • Run the new troll dungeon heroics and get new bracers, since Chimaeron is a big jerk who won’t drop my shinies.
    • Start running TB dailies again so I can buy the resistance trinket which might be handy for Nefarian and heroic modes.
    • Keep checking Therazane for the Pebble daily quest, so I can finally get that blasted pet.
    • Get the achievements for all the low level dungeons I have yet to run.
    • Start running Argent Tournament dailies again so I can buy the mounts and pets that I’m missing.
    • Grind out the Nether Ray dailies in Outland so I can get those mounts.
    • Loremaster achievement.  (9 zones down!  39 to go!  Curse Blizz for resetting everything for Cata…)

Well, I think I’m going to go run a random.  I wonder if I’ve used up all my pug luck yet?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 9:31 pm

    I got Loremaster before Cata.

    😀

Leave a Reply

