Skip to content

Breaking Into the Realm Top 20

July 8, 2011

Now, as my regular readers (I do have a few of them!) have probably realized, my guild is not hard core.  We’re not exactly “casual” either… but we haven’t been attempting server firsts, and we have a reasonable two night per week raid schedule.  So I am pretty damn excited to see that we’ve broken into the top 20 for server progression:


All screenshots are from wowprogress.com as of July 8, 2011.

That’s right – we are currently ranked 19th on Kargath for tier 12 progression.  If you subtract the Alliance guilds we are ranked 9th on Horde side.  I think our US and world rankings are pretty damn good too.

Now, raid progression isn’t the only thing that makes a guild great.  We also have incredible people that are helpful and fun to play with – and to me that’s much more important than progression.  We might rise or fall in the rankings, but we will always be a great guild because our members make it great.

However, that being said…  I am pretty damn proud right now!  This is the first time I’ve ever been in a guild that managed to rank so high!  I’m going to allow myself a few moments to feel good about it.  🙂

I know there are a lot of other good guilds on my server, so I have no idea if we’ll be able to stay near the top.  I hope so, but I won’t be heartbroken if we don’t.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Glaornla permalink
    July 9, 2011 1:01 pm

    That’s awesome Khizz! One of the guilds I raid with most regularly [1] is going into Firelands for the first time tonight, we had not killed any T11 end bosses when 4.2 launched so last weekend we spent some time on those — the 20% nerfs are DRAMATIC! This is a raid team that has some nice folks [2], and many players who do no significant class research – it only took 4 attempts to learn and kill Nefarian (!! Such a joke now!) and I think 5 for Al’akir.

    I’m a little scared to be entering Firelands, I think much whisp form travel shall be experienced, but I’m pumped to put into practice what I know of Shannox and Beth’ilac — one can only watch the videos so many times!

    (Even better that you are 19th place on a, comparatively to my server, more progressed server! We have no Ragnaros kills on Vek’nilash yet, one guild that is 6/7 hehe.)

    [1] Yes, one of. I like to diversify my guildships just like my friendships, I’d rather have 3 or 4 great friends than 1 best friend. I have two toons Horde Side Area 52, and then 8 on Alliance Vek’nilash, with a recent transfer that I had had on Alliance Icecrown but moved to Vek’nilash.

    [2] I’m not sure why “nice” matters but its one of those ‘known two of the players for 3 years, and social connections binding me to the guild more than their individual skill or passion for refinement.’

    • July 10, 2011 1:59 pm

      Thanks! 😀

      Firelands normal is a bit of a step up from Tier 11 normals, but we aren’t finding it insurmountable. I hope you guys do well!

Leave a Reply

