Skip to content

Lord Rhyolith is Slain!

July 15, 2011

I was too tired to post this after raid last night, but yay!  We got him down!

I’d just like to say that I hate fights with huge RNG components… It felt too much like successfully defeating Rhyolith was dependent on getting extremely lucky with active volcano placement.  There were far too many times where Rhyolith would do things like activate a volcano way on the opposite side of the island, then when our boss-driving team steered Rhyolith at the active volcano he would activate a volcano they just passed, or something stupid.  Ah well, we killed him, that’s the important thing.

We changed up the healing assignments on our successful attempt, and I’m not sure how much that might have contributed to our victory.  Originally we had our Pally following the melee group that was driving the boss and our Disco Priest healing the add tank while I ran around healing the ranged DPS and whoever else was within range of me.  On the last attempt our Priest asked to trade assignments with our Pally and then we killed the boss.  Coincidence?  I have no idea – from my perspective things were pretty similar.

Of course, it could have been that people finally stopped standing in lava.  Seriously, we had about a million deaths to the lava lines!  One particularly irritating thing about the lava is that it zigzags around a bit, so you think you’re standing far enough away from it and then suddenly it changes direction and hits you.  So my advice is just to get the hell away from them.

Also, we’d had earlier attempts where we got to Phase 2 but then wiped almost immediately.  On our successful attempt everyone stacked up really quickly which made the healing a lot easier.  Phase 2 felt really short, I was pretty surprised when the boss died.  It was like, “What?  He’s dead already?  Oh, well, yay!”

We managed to get a few attempts in on Alysrazor, and we got to Phase 2 a couple of times.  I think we weren’t very clear on strategy though, since a few of us had forgotten to watch the fight beforehand.  (I may have been one of those people.)  >.>  Our main tank/guild leader found a website today with some strategy guides and diagrams that should make Alysrazor much less confusing.  I’d never heard of the site before, but the guides look great.  Check them out at http://www.icy-veins.com

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 10:44 pm

    Grats!!!

  2. July 16, 2011 9:14 am

    That fight sounds a lot like Supremus. (All my references are BC references! Ph34r me!) Biggest damn deal is just getting out the way.

    • July 16, 2011 10:26 am

      Supremus… Supremus… Erm, Wowpedia to the rescue!

      Ah, I see – he’s a Black Temple boss. I’ve only run BT once, and that was at level 85… I don’t think I got a full sense of the mechanics. However, the volcanoes and lava do sound similar. The rest of the fight seems pretty different though.

      Sorry for being such a Wrath baby. 🙂

  3. July 18, 2011 8:18 am

    Grats!

  4. July 18, 2011 2:59 pm

    Grats!

    Your SS needs more belfs! 🙂

    • July 19, 2011 10:32 am

      Thanks! 😀

      I know, we’ve had a plague of Undead players lately! Also, I used to be the only Tauren in any given raid, but recently we’ve picked up a few. How did we go from mostly BE in Wrath to only having 3 of them in Cata?

      Strangely we have no goblin raiders right now…

Trackbacks

  1. Rhyolith Driven to his Knees « Reputation Grind

Leave a Reply

