Skip to content

Ragnaros is Slain!

September 21, 2011

So, Firelands has been nerfed.  Considerably.  It’s um, kinda easy-sauce now.  Very pathetic how everything just melted away.  I’ll give a full account of how each boss was affected by the nerfs tomorrow.  For now, let’s just say that we cleared the place in about 2.5 hours.

Ragnaros took 3 attempts.  We wiped once on the First Transition because someone forgot which add they were assigned to.  There isn’t quite as much damage as before when an add gets to the hammer — only one person died outright — but  because our Holy Pally and I are busy stunning adds our Disc Priest is the only person healing the transitions, and he couldn’t get everyone back up before Ragnaros picked off three more people.  So we called that one a wipe.  Our second wipe was because we were killing Ragnaros faster than we anticipated, so we accidentally pushed the Second Transition right after a Seed explosion.  That was far too many adds to deal with at one time…  However, third time was the charm, and we got our kill.  The final phase is pretty chaotic even with all the nerfs, but everyone played very well.  Sadly, the bow dropped and our Hunter wasn’t with us.  😦

I also finally got my tier shoulders off Staghelm.  I have mixed feelings about this.  On the one hand, yay!  I have my four piece bonus!  On the other hand… I’m losing my pretty blue feathery shoulders!  I love those shoulders.  And I’ve had them since the second time we killed Omnitron!  (Yeah, that’s right — I was still rocking the Passive Resistor Spaulders.)  They have become a part of my self image, and I hate to lose them.  Thank God for Transmogging, is all I can say!

So, we still had 1.5 hours left in raid after killing Ragnaros, and we still have a raid night tomorrow!  When we zoned out of Firelands Tol Barad was in progress, so we joined and tried to win it so we could do Baradin Hold, but we lost.  Instead we went to BoT and killed Heroic Halfus.  Halfus was pretty easy, since we over-gear it.  Our Pally went Prot and our Disc Priest and I two healed it.  We one-shot him no problem.  After that we wiped a bit on Heroic Twin Drakes.  No one had ever read up on that fight, (at least, not in ages), so it didn’t go well.  We’ll do some research and go back in tomorrow and try again.  It would be nice if we could at least see Sinestra.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 8:11 am

    Grats! We also found the nerfs to be quite … well, we got to Rag in a couple of hours. Didn’t get him down, but we made progress. Only a matter of time, this just made getting to him not take as long. 😀

    • September 22, 2011 8:32 am

      Thanks!

      You guys will get Rag very soon, I have no doubt. 🙂

  2. September 22, 2011 8:29 am

    Grats! Nice job!

  3. September 22, 2011 10:18 am

    Grats!! Looks like you guys won the race 😉

    We had some issues with people not getting out of the bad and placing their seeds in the wrong spot *cough*Fayle*cough* but I have no doubt he is going down when we have our full team there.

    • September 22, 2011 12:50 pm

      What? Placing my seed on Arv was wrong?

      • September 22, 2011 12:53 pm

        Oh no that was fine. I was referring to Fayle dropping his seeds in Zarm’s path. ^_^

    • September 22, 2011 1:54 pm

      Thanks! 😀

      We had someone drop a seed close to our stack point too, but miraculously it didn’t wipe us. I think we popped either Barrier or Tranquility there… or possibly both… My memory is fuzzy.

Leave a Reply

