Skip to content

OMFG Free D3 For Me!

October 21, 2011
tags: ,

Ok, so, I’m poor.  I am unemployed and my husband is a grad student.  We have very little money for essential things, never mind frivolities like digital passes to Blizzcon (never mind actually going to Blizzcon).  Part of the reason that I still find the money for a WoW subscription is that it’s actually a lot cheaper to play WoW than it is to do a lot of other hobbies.  (Including reading.  My husband vastly prefers my WoW addiction to my book addiction.  WoW is substantially less expensive per hour of entertainment time.)  This means that I am stuck watching the free Blizzcon stream, but at least that allowed me to watch the opening ceremonies.

News!  News!  News!

I imagine that most of you will have already heard the news, but I want to blog about it anyway.

  • Mists of Pandaria is, indeed, the next expansion.  I can’t say that I’m completely thrilled about it, since I probably would have preferred an Emerald Dream or something to do with the other island nations we haven’t met in WoW, but whatever.
  • Pandarians are the new race, playable by either faction.  Both factions will start in the same Pandaria starting zone and then choose a faction at the end of the zone.
  • Monk is the new class.  Obviously Pandarians will have monks as a class option, but will other races be able to roll monk?  If so, which ones?  Will all Pandarians be monks perhaps, or will they be able to roll other classes too, and if so, which ones?  I bet these questions are being answered in the WoW panel right this minute, but I don’t have access to that stream.
  • The focus of the next expansion is going to be the conflict between Alliance and Horde, not so much on the next “big bad”.  I’m a little disappointed by this, though I know I’m probably in the minority.  If I really lived in Azeroth I would be a member of one of the neutral factions working toward world peace, so you can imagine how a ramping up of the conflict doesn’t sit well with me.
  • There were a bunch of other random announcements that flashed past on the trailer, (Pet combat system?  Say what?  Looks like some new types of instances too, I wouldn’t be surprised if there will be solo instances.), but I didn’t write them all down and now I don’t remember them.  They might not all pan out either, I mean, we all remember the abandoned dance studio, right?  Oh, and the talent system is being revamped, which is not a surprise.  I mean, common, there’s a whole panel devoted to WoW talent trees, so this was obvious.

And of course, my favourite announcement:

  • WoW players that purchase a year long subscription will get Diablo 3 for free!  Plus they’ll also get a guaranteed beta key for Mists of Pandaria and an in-game mount based on Tyriel from Diablo.  O.M.G.  This is totally awesome!  I have no plans of quitting WoW, and I totally planned to get D3 anyway, so this is absolutely win-win.

I was so excited I had to tell someone, so I sent a text to my husband at work letting him know.  One of my husband’s coworkers is an avid Starcraft player, so this was our exchange:

Me:  Big announcement from Blizzcon – free D3 for WoW subscribers!

Husband:  My coworker says “Fuck WoW players!”

Me:  Tell him, “Suck it!  Haha!”

Ok, I feel like all the most important news has been revealed and/or confirmed.  Everything else will probably just be details.  I can wait for other people to fill in the details.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 5:23 pm

    Everyone but goblins and worgen can be monks

    monks have tank/healer/melee specs 😀

    • October 21, 2011 5:38 pm

      OMG! So exciting! I bet that almost everyone will roll a Pandaren Monk though. I know I probably will – try out two new things at the same time. LOL

      I’ll probably wait a bit after release before leveling one up though. I don’t want to be leveling with 50 zillion other people at the same time.

  2. October 23, 2011 9:20 pm

    Hahahahahhaha. He said that to me in person too 😀

    • October 24, 2011 2:40 pm

      I hope you laughed at him too. Silly Starcraft players! D3 is for WoW players. LOL

      • October 26, 2011 10:54 am

        I graciously told him he could use my WoW account when I wasn’t if he wanted to try out D3.

        I am SUCH a bitch.

Leave a Reply

