Skip to content

The Tao of Healing: Curing Post-Panda Depression

October 22, 2011

The title of this post is brought to you by Minstrel, because I couldn’t think of one.  He always comes up with such awesome post titles!

I’m feeling a weird mix of excitement and anxiety about the next expansion.  I’m cautiously optimistic about most of the changes, though there are a few I am skeptical of.

But I don’t think I deal with change very well… I feel like I’ve just finally figured out what I’m doing in Cataclysm and soon everything will be completely different.  Will I be able to adapt?  What if I’m not very good at playing the new style of Druid?  I don’t think I’d play at all if I couldn’t be a Tauren Resto Druid, so what if I find I don’t like her anymore?

However, what makes me most anxious is the fact that several of my guildies and friends have told me today that they are either thinking of quitting because they don’t like the idea of a panda expansion, or they are thinking of making a Monk as their new main.  It made me realize that we’re probably going to have some roster turn over, and possibly even have to rebuild our raid team.  The thought of it makes me feel a bit sick.  I love our guild and the people in it.  I don’t want to lose them.

I know that change happens, and no matter what there’d probably be a bit of turnover and adapting to do.  And at least we have many months to get used to the new ideas.  But I still feel a little worried.

So I did what I usually do to relax — I ran a few dungeons on my main.  I haven’t run any with her recently because she gets pretty much all of her Valor from raiding, so I’ve only been running dungeons on my Priest.  Now, I love my Priest.  She’s a lot of fun, don’t get me wrong.  But she’s not Kashina.  And oh, running Troll dungeons on Kash tonight was almost magical!  Sure, the PUGs were fail, but I kept us alive (despite everyone’s suicidal tendencies) and danced around fail patches with fleet-footed ease.  I’m comfortable on my Druid.  I’m at home on her.  Her spells flow naturally from my fingertips.  When I play her, it’s almost as though I might actually be good at this game.

So now I feel better.  The expansion will come, and I’ll have to go through all the insecurity and stress of re-learning how to play again, but I’ll figure it out.  And if I don’t?  Well, there are many more important things in life.  Besides, right now I have Kash, and Kash is amazing.  Time enough to worry later.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 10:01 am

    Everyone goes through this each expansion. It happened in Wrath. At least with MoP they won’t start at level 55 and have their monk leveled to 90 before their current main.

    Slice has already said he is switching to a panda monk healer for his main.

    Honestly, I will believe it when I see it.

    In reality most people (who raid seriously) will rush to level 90 on their current raiding main and get them geared up for the starter raids. Once that is done THEN they will switch to their panda alt, level it up, gear it up, etc and then prepare to change. Unless they are some insane leveler, they won’t be ready on their panda right away. You’ll still have time.

    I am a bit worried my self. Not in a bad way, but they are completely revamping warlocks so it makes me wonder what they will be doing to them and how they will work now. I know that I’ve survived all the changes thus far so I should be able to survive these new ones.

    Just so excited over everything! Can’t wait for the class panels today!

    • October 22, 2011 2:27 pm

      Yeah, I was thinking that too. Most raiders are going to want to get into raiding as soon as possible, so they’ll be more inclined to level their current main first. And even with heirlooms and leveling bonuses 1-90 is going to take a while, and after they level up they’d still have to catch up to the gearing curve. So only those most dedicated to it are going to have a Monk ready to raid for the first tier.

      Of course, that just delays the inevitable issues of working Monks into raiding strategies, but meh. Not much to be done about that.

  2. October 22, 2011 11:38 am

    Why not try something new before the pandas attack and look for your sense of wonder again? Heck, try an Alliance side alt, some class you’ve never played – I know Crits and Giggles would be glad to play host to an alt or two.

    I’m going to try a monk healer but I doubt it’ll replace my tree. Nothing can. They took tree form from me but they can’t kill the tree spirit!

    • October 22, 2011 2:35 pm

      It’s not that I’ve lost my sense of wonder… There’s still more things to do in Azeroth than I have time for, and lots of classes that I’d love to level up. (Been working on my Mage, still haven’t leveled a Rogue, Warlock, Shaman or Warrior.) And sometimes I’m tempted to level up another Druid. It’s more that I like things the way they are, (for the most part, and despite my complaining), and don’t want to lose what I already have.

      I wonder if the vaguely Buddist pandas have teachings about attachment being the root of all suffering?

      I could roll an alt in Crits, but I’m not sure how much I’d play her. All my alts on other servers have languished in the starting zones, though I’m sure it would help to have a guild where I already know some people.

  3. October 24, 2011 10:03 am

    As far as people reactions to the expansion to quitting cause of pandas…that’s kinda rash imo.

    The expansion is not just about pandas.

    This is the 1st expansion where they are giving people things to do besides raiding.

    1.) Challenge mode dungeons
    2.) PVE scenarios
    3.) Quests that will reward VP
    4.) Poke’mon……Zergling I choose you!

    For the people who are hating on the new expac….you should have seen this coming. Blizz copywrited MoP months ago. Furthermore, at the con they stated that the pandas were supposed to be the Alliance race….

    Besdies when looking at the landscapes that makes up Pandaria…it’s breathtaking imo. Then again I might be biased 😛

    Personally, I want to roll a melee healer…reminds me of my time as a Warrior Priest/Disciple of Khaine in Warhammer online.

    • October 24, 2011 2:36 pm

      I very much agree. I think that added different types of end game is a great idea, even if I’m not interested in Pokemon-style play myself. And Pandaria is just gorgeous…

  4. October 24, 2011 1:01 pm

    You just found yourself a whole bunch of new friends – welcome to the dark ….er…um…the light side?

    I’m still trying to find a class I’m good at…maybe Monk will be the one although I’m terrible with melee…

    • October 24, 2011 2:37 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

      I don’t think I’ll be very good at melee healing either, but that’s not going to stop me from trying it! 😀

      • October 24, 2011 3:23 pm

        LoL melee healing! Tank pulled too much and going down? Wack some sense into him and heal him at the same time!

        You know, I could totally work with that…

Leave a Reply

