Skip to content

Transmog Week: Day 1 — Kashina

March 5, 2012

Hello everyone, and welcome to Transmog Week!  I figured that I would do a bit of a feature this week since I have 6 toons at level 85, and each one’s gear has been all prettified.  (On the 7th day I shall either rest like god-fearin’ folk or catch up if I somehow miss a day.)

Kashina

First up, my Resto Druid main and the toon closest to my heart: Kashina.

Those of you who’ve followed this blog for a while will not be surprised to see that I’ve gone with Tier 11 for her look.  Those feathery blue shoulders are my favourite piece of loot ever.  Blizzard is going to have to dig deep if they want to design something I’d like better.

In a way, going with a tier set is easy, and perhaps a little bit boring.  (It was especially easy in this case, since I already owned every piece of Tier 11.)  I find that the more interesting transmog looks are usually achieved by mixing and matching various items until you come up with something unique.  However, I love this set too much not to use it, and I did change it up a little bit.

Most of the pieces I’m using come from the Stormrider’s Vestments set, which is the Resto Druid version of Tier 11 normal.  The shoulders are the non-tier lookalike version, because the tier token never dropped for me.  Obviously any Balance, Feral or lookalike pieces would give you the same look, but here’s a list of the pieces I’m using at the moment:

(The other slots don’t need to be ‘mogged because they can’t be seen.)

The biggest change from a straight tier look is that I’m not using the giant, WWE-esque belt that was supposed to match Tier 11.  I hate enormous belts — it makes it look like the characters can’t bend over and ruins their sleek profiles.  Instead, I’m using Firescar Sash, which was designed to match Tier 12.  I guess the Tier 12 pants and chest were so ridiculous that they went minimalistic with the belt.  This is a good thing, because while the belt doesn’t exactly match my Tier 11 color palate, it still looks pretty good.

The mace I’m using is the Hammer of Purified Flame, which was one of the rewards from the Quel’Dalar quest chain started by the Battered Hilt.  (It’s also the most beautiful of those quest rewards, in my opinion.)  I’m really glad that I finally get a chance to use this mace, since by the time I’d finished the quest chain in Wrath I already had better gear.

Kashina actually has a huge collection of weapons, many of which I’ve never had the chance to use.  I’ve just kept them because they’re so cool.  Unfortunately very few of them match this outfit, so one day I may have to branch out into other gear sets just to have an excuse to use more weapons.  However, I have not been so diligent about keeping off-hands, and the few that I do have do not match this outfit.  Therefore, I’m using the current Tier 13 Ledger of Revolting Rituals.  While I could use the blue version from LFR, (because I have it and it matches), I’m using the normal red version because I like the way the red balances the Power Torrent enchant on my main-hand.

For a while I was using a staff instead of a main-hand/off-hand combo, so I was transmogging it into Dreambinder — one of the coolest looking staves in the game, and very druidic in design.  It drops from Freya in 25-man normal Ulduar.  There are two other versions that also drop in Ulduar: a red version also from 25-man normal and a green version from 10-man normal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 3:44 pm

    Yay, a post! Kash is looking quite awesome. I really love that offhand, I’ve never seen it before. I wish they would make offhands more visible, like shields.

    • March 6, 2012 4:20 pm

      I’m really looking forward to wands being visible in MoP! My mage and priest have bags full of cool looking wands that I’m saving. 🙂

      • March 7, 2012 9:32 am

        Ooooh yeah! Karius has this really sweet one from an Ulduar run way back when. I totally forgot those will be main hand weapons now! I need to dig through his bank and see what *else* he has that is cool, since I sort of, uh, save everything. >.>

      • March 7, 2012 11:15 am

        Me too. There’s not nearly enough room in void storage for all my stuff, especially since transmog encourages me to go out and collect even more than I already had. LOL

Leave a Reply

