Skip to content

Transmog Week: Day 3 — Khizzara

March 7, 2012

Khizzara

Today I’m going to feature my Mage Khizzara, who is both my newest 85 and my blogging namesake.

This is the toon I’ve had the shortest amount of time, so her bags aren’t stuffed to bursting with cool gear like some of my other toons.  Still, I’m pleased with what I’ve managed to put together for her.

The Mage Tier 13 chest and shoulders from LFR form the foundation of her look.  I like the blue LFR version of this tier much more than the red normal or purple heroic versions, so I’ve been running Dragon Soul consistently to try to collect the pieces.  Fortunately, the two tokens I’ve managed to get were the most important ones for establishing the look.  Hopefully I’ll get the head and glove tokens soon so I can also use those.  (The legs aren’t important because you can’t see them anyway.)

Unfortunately, the blue Mage LFR tier gear does not have any matching off-set Valor gear — it all looks like Warlock, Priest or the red & yellow normal Mage gear.  This makes it difficult to accessorize and find replacements for the LFR gear I haven’t won yet.  Here’s what I’ve managed to come up with so far:

I happened to get pretty lucky while putting this set together — it turned out I already had a few pieces that would match.  Being an engineer was a big help, since I had already made the Bio-Optic Killshades.  The shades work well thematically, especially since they have little gears on the side, just like the shoulders.  And besides, there’s just something awesome about a goblin engineer in goggles.

I also got lucky with the cloak and sandals.  Both are random drops that I just happened to have in my bags.  The cloak is a gorgeous shade of blue that matches perfectly.  However, the sandals are nothing special and there are many other shoes that would work as well — just look for something black or another color that matches.

Finding matching hands was more difficult.  At first I just used Blauvelt’s Special Occasion Gloves, which are a quest reward from Howling Fiord.  These had the benefit of being long and black, allowing them to be unobtrusive and cover up my bracers.  (It’s funny, but most black gloves seem to be short and don’t hide bracers.)  However, that didn’t really make them a match.  Finally I had the bright idea to look through gloves made by tailoring, and discovered the Ebonweave Gloves.  Fortunately, my tailor just so happened to have all the mats on her, including the Ebonweave cloth which she’d made while leveling.  The gloves are a little too purple to be an exact match, but they come pretty darn close.

The other problem piece is the waist slot.  There is no matching belt available with Valor Points, so my only hope is to win a Cord of the Slain Champion from the LFR version of Zon’ozz.  Until then I’m using a Master’s Belt that I bought off the AH.  It’s not a perfect match, but at least it doesn’t clash or draw attention to itself.

As I said earlier, Khizzara doesn’t have many cool items stored up because she’s just too new.  So I was glad to discover that she had a really nice looking staff in the bank, the Rod of the Sleepwalker.  This staff has a 40% drop rate from Twilight Lord Kelris in Blackfathom Deeps, so if you like the look it should be easily farmable at max level.  I like it because it’s so similar to the classic staff design you see wizards wielding in fantasy art.  However, the Power Torrent enchantment does overpower it just a little…  Blizzard has indicated that they’re looking at ways to allow people to turn off enchantment effects on weapons, but until then I’m just telling myself it’s because she’s a Mage and she likes to carry around a giant ball of fire.

So, that’s her look.  It’s not perfect, and I hope to update it with more closely matching gear in the future, but it could be a lot worse.  After all, goblins aren’t exactly known for their fashion sense…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 8:06 pm

    Interesting. Given the gloves you’re using now, would Arcanist Belt be a decent matching waist? It’s the same size, but has that light purple tinge which could play against the glove model colors. It’s the waist I use as a splash of contrasting color on my mage (Raimeg – Kilrogg US)

    • March 8, 2012 11:30 am

      The Arcanist Belt isn’t a bad match, but I don’t like the little strip of red on the lower half. Maybe it just shows up more on a gobllin model than on a gnome?

      The other problem is that I don’t have an Arcanist Belt, and there’s none on the AH. 😦 I should probably see if I can solo MC to finish off that set…

      I actually think I prefer the look of Mage Tier 2, but oh God — Blackwing Lair! *shudder*

Leave a Reply

