Skip to content

Transmog Week: Day 5 — Kamilee

March 9, 2012

Kamilee

This is my Worgen Hunter, Kamilee.  And, wow — she is excited to see you!  I think. It’s hard to tell with that perma-snarl on her face.  She’s either happy or hungry…

This is one of the transmog gear sets I’m most proud of.  It’s composed entirely of pieces that I bought off the AH or found while leveling.  I think it looks flashy and dramatic.

There is one part of this outfit that’s a bit quirky.  Because it was designed for a Worgen, I choose the shoes not for their appearance, but because they completely disappear on a Worgen model.  I went with the amazing invisible shoes because all the shoes I found either didn’t match the color of the outfit or looked like they were all bunched up at the Worgen “heel”.  Of course, this means that in human form her feet don’t quite match the rest of her.  If you decide to copy this look you might want to keep that in mind and look for different shoes.

Also, some of these pieces are quest rewards, so you might be out of luck trying to obtain them if your character has already completed the quests.  I’ll indicate look-alike pieces if any are available.

These are the pieces I’m using:

  • Shoulders: Rocket-Chief Pauldrons.  Unfortunately, these are only available as a quest reward in Netherstorm.  There used to be Hunter and Shaman set pieces that were identical, but they are no longer available in-game.  All the shoulders that share this model are different colors, so the quest is your only hope of obtaining the red ones.  (Unless you’ve got the old set versions in your bags somewhere.)
  • Back: Sentry Cloak.  This is a blue-quality rare BoE world drop from 22-26 level mobs.  Many cloaks share the model, but most of them are different colors.  However, the Battleforge Cloak is a green-quality random world drop that is an exact match.  The AH is probably your best bet for either of those.  Horde toons have another option, as the Tranquillien Champion’s Cloak is available from Provisioner Vredigar — provided you’re exalted with Tranquillian, that is.
  • Chest: Engraved Breastplate.  Another green-quality BoE which drops primarily from Outland mobs.  You will probably have to camp the AH to get one.  The same model is also available in gold or silver.
  • Waist: Blood Knight Girdle.  Yet another random green-quality BoE.  It shares a model and color with — surprise! — still another green-quality BoE world drop, the Battleforge Girdle.  Once again, check the AH.
  • Feet: Tsunami Boots.  As I said above, I choose these because they are invisible on a Worgen model.  They do not actually match the set!  If you are a Worgen, Draenai or Tauren just look for any old invisible shoes.  If you’re a species with boring feet you’ll have to get creative.

OMG, that’s a lot of links!  I can’t go on without another screenshot:

That’s much better.  Now, where were we?

  • Polearm: Lantresor’s Warblade.  I absolutely love this polearm!  Unfortunately, the enchantment I have on my weapon completely overpowers it and clashes horribly with my outfit.  (I’m wearing the original unenchanted item in these screenshots.)  This is one case where I’ll be very glad if Blizzard follows through on it’s promise to let us turn off enchantment effects.  Anyway, this polearm is  available from either the quest “Message to Telaar” in Nagrand for Alliance, or “Message to Garadar” for Horde.  If you’ve already done those quests, and I’m betting most people have, then you can also pull a Blackhand Doomsaw out of the corpse of Warchief Rend Blackhand in UBRS.

  • Ranged Weapon: Lost Marksman’s Rifle.  Now, first of all, I’ve gotta say that I wish I wasn’t using a gun.  I much prefer the aesthetics of  bows.  However, I haven’t been able to find a bow that matches this outfit, and if you have to have a gun then this is a pretty damn flashy gun to be using!  It might not be easy to get your hands on one though, as it’s another model/color only available as a quest reward.  Horde need to complete “Return My Remains” in Borean Tundra, while Alliance need to “Get Me Outta Here!”  If you’ve already completed those quests, then you might still have a chance at a Hair-Trigger Blunderbuss — but again, it’s a quest reward.  Horde can obtain it from “A Tailor Made Formula” in Howling Fjord, while the Alliance version comes from “The Delicate Sound of Thunder“.  Already completed your faction’s version of both quests?  Sorry, but no flashy gun for you.

I’m really happy with how this set came together from random bits and pieces.  It’s a one-of-a-kind look!  However, the sad thing is that Kamilee is my only high level Alliance toon, so I hardly ever play her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2012 11:05 am

    Wooooow! I LOVE those colors on her. I really like female worgen anyway, and bright colors go great on them. Not a fan of short cloaks, but that’s a personal thing.

    • March 11, 2012 1:46 pm

      Thank you! 😀

      I prefer long cloaks too, but this one was such a perfect color match that I couldn’t resist it. Also, I really love the Celtic knotwork design on it. I try to justify the short length to myself by thinking she spends a lot of time hunting in the woods and a long cape would be more likely to snag on branches and things.

      …I might be a closet RPer. >.>

      • March 13, 2012 8:48 am

        HAHA! It’s ok, I am too. Some of mine even have last names and stuff …

  2. March 16, 2012 1:13 pm

    That’s a great set! As I’ve been leveling my warrior lately, I’ve been noting items to snag from lower level quests as I go. Sometimes there is a piece that really looks great…I pay special attention to shoulders and belts since later on those seem the most annoying things to find.

Leave a Reply

