Skip to content

Companion Pets — My Descent Into Madness

May 3, 2012

A couple of days ago I noticed that I had 141 mini-pets.  “Sweet!” I thought.  “I’m almost to 150 and the little dragon pet.  When MoP comes out it will be easy to grab the last few.”  Then I read this edition of The Queue on WoW Insider, which stated:

Non-Combat pets in MoP: I’m 129/150 towards Littlest Pet Shop. With MoP’s account-wide pets, what will happen to this achievement? Will I need to finish it before 5.0 in order to get my Celestial dragon?

As of the current beta build, those achievements are nowhere to be found in the beta. That doesn’t mean that the associated pets won’t return in some other way, but if you think the achievement is within reach in the next few months, I’d push for it if I were you.

WHAT?!?!?!  They might take away my 150 pet achievement award?!  Queue hyperventilation and full on panic mode.

I have spent the last three days doing nothing but farm pets.  I’ve managed to get up to 147.  I need three more.  Just. Three. More.

I made a list of all the pets in the game that I do not yet currently have (and which I don’t need to spend real money on, so no trading card or Blizz store pets):

  • Nether Ray Fry (Rep reward from Shatari Skyguard)
  • Hyacynth Macaw (BoE world drop)
  • Fox Kit (BoP world drop)
  • Azure Whelpling (BoE world drop)
  • Crimson Whelpling (BoE world drop)
  • Dark Whelpling (BoE world drop)
  • Firefly (BoE world drop)
  • Sprite Darter Hatchling (BoP world drop)
  • Tiny Shale Spider (guaranteed drop off rare spawn in Deepholm)
  • Chuck (Shattrath fishing daily)
  • Muckbreath (Shattrath fishing daily)
  • Snarly (Shattrath fishing daily)
  • Toothy (Shattrath fishing daily)
  • Mr. Pinchy (Fishing… honestly, I’m not sure how one gets him, I’ve never tried.  I’ve heard it’s a real pain to farm up though.)
  • Clockwork Gnome (archeology)
  • Pterrodax Hatchling (archeology)

The Nether Ray Fry I consider a given — I just need to grind out Shatari Skyguard rep, and I’ve been meaning to do that for the mounts anyway.  Which means I really only need to find two more somehow.  Unfortunately, my options right now are either: grind archeology and hope a pet shows up; grind mobs and hope for a rare world drop; get lucky with a Shattrath fishing daily; or get lucky on the AH.

The really irritating thing about the Auction House is that there are THREE pets I could learn on the Alliance AH, but I don’t have enough gold on that side to buy them.  And transferring enough gold over to the Ally side to buy them would be extremely expensive because of the 30% neutral AH fee.

So what do I work on grinding out?  Do I grind mobs or archeology?  Which has a better chance of success?  If I grind mobs, which ones should I concentrate on?  It seems like they all have equally abysmal drop rates.  (Before anyone says, “Go for the Sprite Darter, it’s really easy to farm” I just want to say screw you!  They changed the drop rate on the Sprite Darter.  It’s now an extremely rare drop off any mob in Feralas and is no longer easy to farm.  Getting soooo tired of people telling me how they got it in less than 10 kills about a year ago.  I know you did, but that’s no longer possible.)

The easy way out would be to just spend $20 at the Blizz pet store, and let me tell you that is really freaking tempting.  However, my husband just doesn’t understand why this is so important.  Isn’t my sanity worth $20?  Isn’t it?  I guess he wants me to go a bit crazier before we start shelling out real monies.  *rocks desperately back and forth*

I guess my theory is that I should work on grinding things that I won’t be able to buy.  I mean, I might be able to find the whelplings and the firefly on the AH, so I should camp the AH while farming other pets.  Obviously I can do the Shattrath fishing daily when it’s available, grind Shatari Skyguard rep, and camp the Deepholm rare spawn spider while surfing the net or writing blog posts.  (What do you think I’m doing right now?  LOL)  Otherwise I should probably do archeology and grind mobs for either the Sprite Darter or the Fox Kit, since they’re both BoP and won’t be on the AH.  What sucks is that if I’m working on trying to get one pet that means I’m not working on trying to get another pet, and if I’m out grinding I’m not able to neurotically check the AH over and over again.

I may need professional help.  Please send some.  😦

Or send me a pet.  Please!  I needssss them, preciousssss!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 7:06 pm

    I have both the arch pets, and in particular the pterrodax hatchling was no big thing to get. Fossil sites are plentiful.

    • May 3, 2012 10:50 pm

      Oh, also, do you have the voodoo figurine?

      • May 3, 2012 11:22 pm

        Yeah, I have the Voodoo Figurine and the Fossilized Hatchling pet. I seriously have everything currently available except for what’s on the list and anything from the pet store or trading card game.

  2. Arvash permalink
    May 3, 2012 11:55 pm

    You say you need pets, huh? I may have some extra loot card pets laying around somewhere…..

    • May 4, 2012 12:08 am

      “Extra” loot cards? I can’t even imagine such a thing! Though, I suppose if you bought enough cards eventually you’d start to get duplicates. If you were willing to donate to the “save Khizzara’s sanity” fund it would be most appreciated, though I have no idea how I could ever repay you. (I’ve been doing archeology all night. I can now turn myself into amber, watch a sword dance and ask the innkeeper’s daughter to port me home, but no pets.)

      Hmm… I used to do a fair bit of artwork, but I’m a bit rusty. I could try to do a character portrait or something in exchange. No promises of quality, but I would do my best.

  3. Arvash permalink
    May 4, 2012 12:16 am

    Gimmie Fire Anzu and we’ll call it even, lol. I can send an envoy tomorrow to Kargath and maybe we can get you a new lil dragon friend =)

    • May 4, 2012 12:21 am

      Thanks so much! I can attempt to draw fire Anzu… Unless you meant an ACTUAL fire Anzu, which would be impossible, since that’s not within my power…

      • Arvash permalink
        May 4, 2012 6:22 am

        Lol, I forgot that you didnt get the mount in your Firelands run. Oh well, I was looking forward to getting that red Anzu and combining it with my blue Anzu and making 2/5 of a Voltron Anzu and…..yeah….those Jewelcrafting mounts in MoP can’t come here soon enough!

  4. Aralosseien permalink
    May 4, 2012 3:23 am

    It might…be coming out? My dragon?

    Augh! I don’t have time for this. Will have to make time. Crappity crap.

    • May 4, 2012 8:30 am

      I know! Stupid achievement removing Blizzard! 😡

      Watch, we’ll panic and farm up the last few pets and then Blizz will add the achievement/reward back into the Beta and we will have panicked for nothing.

      • Aralosseien permalink
        May 7, 2012 6:15 am

        Absolutely. Do I have enough faith in this to leave it? Nope.

        *shakes fist*

  5. May 4, 2012 5:57 am

    I’d go down the archaeology/fishing route personally. Mainly because I’ve been killing foxes in Tol Barad since Cataclysm was released, I’m exalted on two characters, almost there on a third and I’ve never ever seen the pet drop.

    Also Mr Pinchy is bit of rng also but worth a shot whilst you’re checking out the Shattrah fishing quests. (http://www.elsanglin.com/fish/mr_pinchy.html)

    • May 4, 2012 8:35 am

      Yeah, my entire guild has been pretty dedicated to killing TB foxes for the pet and we’ve seen two drop total. It’s an incredibly low drop rate.

      Thank you for the link to the Mr. Pinchy info! I think the worst part of that grind would be catching him and then getting non-pet wishes. Or the two-day cooldown between wishes. 😦

  6. May 4, 2012 7:13 am

    Oh no, as someone who’s spent way too much time in Feralas vainly trying to get the Tiny Emerald Whelpling to drop from the Noxious Whelps I’d agree with Erinys, fishing or (don’t tell your husband I said this) 20 bucks in the pet store. Your sanity is so worth it. My husband would not understand either, lol.

    • May 4, 2012 8:40 am

      Yeah, I’m not going to hold my breath for a drop from Feralas. Too bad the Sprite Darter is BoP so I’m not going to find any on the AH. I hope they make them catchable in MoP so I can finally get one. It would be very satisfying to nab one after all the time I’ve spent massacring them with no luck.

  7. May 4, 2012 7:47 am

    From what I understand, they raised the drop rate on the baby crocs from the Shatt fishing daily to around 25% (maybe even higher). So I think you have a pretty good chance of getting one or more of the pets.

    • May 4, 2012 8:42 am

      I heard that rumour too, so I hope the daily shows up often and I get lucky! Being a Wrath baby I’ve never done the Shattrath fishing daily until now. Wish I had. 😦

      • May 4, 2012 10:35 am

        Lyss is totally correct, assuming the crocs daily shows up, that is your best bet.

        Well, other than Arv giving you a couple of TCG pets. He seriously does have piles of them, he buys boxes (not packs, BOXES) every time a new set of cards comes out.

  8. JD Kenada permalink
    May 4, 2012 8:40 pm

    Transfer to Runetotem and I can hook you up with pretty much any of the BoE pets you need! Oh wait…you can just spend less money in the pet store.

    Moving on…lol.

    Good luck, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

