Skip to content

Where I’ve Been and Where I’m Going

June 20, 2012

Sorry about the long drought between posts.  I have to be about the most inconsistent blogger there is…

I have still been playing both WoW and D3, but I’ve significantly cut back my play time recently.  There are several reasons for this.  For one thing, I’ve been going through a bit of WoW burnout.  I’m just not as interested in it lately.  Even raiding is not as fun as it once was.  Well, ok, honestly I haven’t had much fun this tier at all, but now that we seem to have given up on heroic modes and just sit farming normal ad infinitum there doesn’t seem much point to bothering.  I could sleepwalk through normal (and occasionally have…)  So I’ve needed a break.  Instead of taking a complete break I’ve just cut back a lot and only done what I’ve felt like doing.  Anything that seemed like a chore I’ve ignored.  (Except I still show up to raid, because, well, sense of responsibility and all that.  Besides, one day a week isn’t a big deal.)

D3 has been a welcome change of pace.  Literally as well as figuratively, since it’s a much more frantic style of game.  I’ve been leveling two characters simultaneously, one co-op with a friend and the other solo.  Because of differences in our schedules I have had more time to play D3 than my co-op partner has, so both of my characters have been keeping pace with each other.  Currently I think my Demon Hunter is a bit ahead of my Monk, but they’re both around level 52 at the moment and have been within 5 levels of each other the entire time.  I realize this means that I could have had a level 60 by now if I’d just focused on one of them, but I really don’t care.  D3 is for fun, and I’m taking time to enjoy playing it.  I don’t even know if I’m going to bother much with Inferno.  I might go back and re-roll other classes, or I might lose interest entirely.

Real life has also had a big impact on my play time.  My husband finally finished his PhD and got a job offer for a post-doc position in Wisconsin.  (Yay!)  So we’ve been planning, and packing, and otherwise getting ready.  (Traveling with a cat makes the moving process so much more complicated, but I won’t get into that here.  *sigh*)  My husband starts his new job Monday, which means we are moving over this weekend.  We haven’t found a place to stay yet, so we’re going to be living in a hotel for a little while while house hunting.  I’m trying not to stress out too much about that, even though my natural obsessive desire to plan out every little detail of things makes moving to a place where we don’t know anyone and have no place to stay very scary.  😦

The cat that is making our move much more complicated than it should be…

Of course, because we’re moving and haven’t found a house yet, I have no idea when I’m going to have stable access to the internet again.  I can probably use the hotel internet while we stay there, but I’ll likely have to use my netbook, which isn’t powerful enough to raid or play D3 on.  At least that should allow me to stay in contact with people though.  Well, at least until we find a place to move permanently, because then we’ll probably have to get an internet connection set up, which might take a week or two.  (If you’re one of the people who has my phone number, prepare to have your phone blow up with text messages from me during that time…)  Part of me is wondering how on earth I’ll manage to survive without my games, but the other part of me is very grateful to be getting an enforced break from them.

So, unless I get bored at the hotel, this will probably be my last post for a while.  Don’t worry!  I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth yet!  🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Aralosseien permalink
    June 20, 2012 9:43 am

    Good luck with the move! 🙂

  2. June 20, 2012 10:43 am

    Grats to hubby on the new job!

    That is one pretty kitty! Mine is orange too, love them.

    Remind me to flip you my phone number, eh?

    • June 20, 2012 12:41 pm

      Thanks, Rep! You have my email, don’t you? Can send me your phone number that way, if you do. 🙂

      • June 29, 2012 7:41 am

        Yay for Wisconsin!!! I hear you’ll be close by!

      • June 30, 2012 12:12 am

        Yes! I hear you’re in Madison too. We’re neighbours! 😀

  3. June 20, 2012 12:42 pm

    Tell your husband congratulations! Oh my, such a beautiful cat is worthy of some inconvenience, well at least I’m sure that’s what they think!

    Well at least the move coincided with needing a WoW break, hope you find a great place quickly so you can get your internet back!

    • June 20, 2012 12:45 pm

      Thanks, Tome! And yeah, my cat thinks the world revolves around him. Such a prima donna.

      And the timing is rather fortuitous. 🙂

  4. JD Kenada permalink
    June 20, 2012 9:45 pm

    Can’t really do more than echo the comments I made on Real ID and others have stated here. Either way, will be thinking of you and sacrificing a root beer in the name of smooth transition.

    • June 20, 2012 11:25 pm

      Mmm… root beer…. I’m sure the great god “U-Haul” will be pleased. 😀

      • JD Kenada permalink
        June 21, 2012 7:45 am

        Really, as long as you have a truck ready, that works, and is within 10 minutes of your home…it will already have succeeded.

  5. June 25, 2012 11:30 pm

    Congrats to the husband on finishing his degree! That’s a wonderful accomplishment — and also, I know, a great relief! If you’re moving to Madison, I’m so envious. I loved, LOVED that city when I was going to graduate school there, and I would move back there at the drop of a hat if that’s where the job market was willing to take us.

    • June 26, 2012 9:31 am

      Thanks, Kamalia! So far Madison seems really nice. It looks a lot more like the place I grew up than D.C. did, so that makes it seem more homey. We still have to figure out where things are and how to get to them, (some of these roads seem so confusing!), but it’s like an exciting adventure so far. 😀

      • June 26, 2012 10:09 am

        Make sure you visit Michaels on Monroe Street sometime soon! They make the BEST Turtle Sundae!

Leave a comment