Skip to content

Mogolympics Round 1 Results Are In!

August 15, 2012

The painstaking process of judging has come to an end (for this round, at least), and the results are finally up for the Cycling event!  Go check out all the entries and find out who the winners are over at Tome of the Ancient.

I had no idea how difficult judging this contest was going to be when I signed up for the job.  For one thing, the sheer number of entrants makes the process a bit daunting.  The high caliber of the entries also makes it difficult to decide  on scores.  I keep second guessing myself, wondering if perhaps I’ve given certain outfits scores that are too low, or too high, or if I’m letting my own color biases and favourite race/gender combinations skew the results unfairly.  Or worrying that maybe I was going too easy on the first few entries and then getting pickier as I went on, or vice versa.

After agonizing for ages over what scores to give the first few submissions I finally threw up my hands and came up with an entirely different way of going about things.  I printed out all the entries.  Yeah, that’s right, in full color too.  I then spread them out and put them in some sort of loose order from favourite to least favourite.  (There were a lot of entries that were tied, especially in the middle of the pack.)  Then once I had some sense of how each entry compared to the others I scored them.  I don’t know if this was the best method to use or not, but it prevented me from spending a zillion hours on it and going completely insane.  (At one point my husband walked in, looked at what I was doing and said, “If you start connecting those together with bits of string I’m calling the hospital.”)

This was my judging criteria:

  • Does the outfit suit the theme?  In this case, whether or not the outfits screamed “biker!” at me.
  • Technique.  By this I mean how well the different pieces of the outfit work together, in terms of color, texture, patterns, etc.  (Matching the colors of either the chopper or the mechanohog helped somewhat here.)  I also took into account how well the outfit suited the model chosen to wear it.  (What would look good on a female Draenei doesn’t always look right on a male Troll, for instance.)
  • Style.  Here I mean whether or not there’s a certain “wow” factor to the outfit, something that makes it stand out from the crowd and visibly pop.

Congratulations to the medalists, and a big thank you to everyone who entered!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 11:40 am

    What you said! I did have an idea how hard this would be from Mog Madness, but this has definitely been harder. Every event I look at I’m just astounded by how good they are and just hope I do their hard work justice.

  2. August 15, 2012 12:19 pm

    Your judging criteria sounds good. I don’t envy any of you judges, that’s for sure.

  3. August 15, 2012 12:22 pm

    “I keep second guessing myself, wondering if perhaps I’ve given certain outfits scores that are too low, or too high, or if I’m letting my own color biases and favourite race/gender combinations skew the results unfairly. Or worrying that maybe I was going too easy on the first few entries and then getting pickier as I went on, or vice versa.”

    Hee hee hee! This is so, SO familiar a feeling for me — I always feel this way when I am grading a stack of quizzes or lab reports. Papers in the first third of the stack tend to get their scores scribbled out multiple times as I adjust my internal rubric for what deduction each type of error should receive.

    • August 15, 2012 12:25 pm

      The spreading papers out in a loose order and assigning scores from there is also something I totally do for lab reports that have a large writing/essay component.

    • August 15, 2012 12:26 pm

      Oh, this whole judging process has made me so glad that I’m not a teacher! I don’t know how you do this all the time. I’ve changed my scores so often, you wouldn’t believe.

  4. JD Kenada permalink
    August 16, 2012 11:52 am

    “I keep second guessing myself, wondering if perhaps I’ve given certain outfits scores that are too low, or too high, or if I’m letting my own color biases and favourite race/gender combinations skew the results unfairly. ”

    That sounds incredibly familiar. I found on occasion I’d look at an outfit again at the end, and ask “it’s not your colour choice, but how does it look?”

Leave a Reply

