Skip to content

Ashes of Al’ar

September 11, 2012

So, last night a couple of guildies were looking for a few more people to run Tempest Keep for the phoenix mount.  At first I ignored them because my wrist was hurting and so I was trying not to play too much.  But they finally just sent me an invite, so I thought, “Meh, this won’t take too long, and maybe the mount will drop… ” I also contacted a friend on IM that I know really wants the mount, and he agreed to come along.  Then our guild leader joined us too, so we had 5 people total.

It was a smooth run.  The mind control mechanic seemed a little buggy.  Kael’thas was just blowing our cooldowns and using useless abilities rather than doing anything dangerous.  So he went down easy and then we looked at the loot.

OMG

Holy crap.

The Ashes dropped.

We all rolled need and held our breath.

I heard that tell-tale noise of loot dropping into my bag.  Holy fucking crap, I won the Ashes of Al’ar!

At first I couldn’t believe it, but there it was, sitting in my bags.  I waited for a while, figuring there must be some mistake, and surely someone would ask me to pass it over to the rightful winner.  But no, there was just a steady stream of congratulations in /raid and /g.  I waited for people to ask if they could buy it off me, but no one did.  I felt a little bit guilty taking it when I knew that every other person there would LOVE to have it, (and the rolls were so close too, four of us rolled in the 90s), but finally I managed to convince myself to right click on it.

So now I have the Ashes of Al’ar phoenix mount from Tempest Keep.  Which I’ve always wanted, but never in a million years thought I would obtain.  Better yet, with account-wide mounts I have it on every single character!

Please excuse me, I have to go hover over the Valley of Strength for a while.  😀

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2012 3:07 pm

    OMG that is so awesome!!!

    Grats hun!!!

  2. September 11, 2012 5:14 pm

    Nice! Congrats on the mount! =)

  3. JD Kenada permalink
    September 11, 2012 5:44 pm

    Holy Crap Khizz! Congrats!

    Just this past weekend my buddy Valguer/Magik was asking me how you obtain it and I was telling him how ridiculously rare of a drop it is (as we all now).

    Seriously, so happy for you!

    • September 11, 2012 6:16 pm

      Thanks, JD! 😀 *dances*

      • JD Kenada permalink
        September 11, 2012 8:02 pm

        I wish something like that would happen on an LBR run! lol

      • September 11, 2012 8:25 pm

        I’m sure it will eventually. It’s just a matter of time!

  4. September 12, 2012 6:05 am

    OMG! Congratulations! Now I know two people with it, you and the guy who blocks our AH entrance with his, lol! Yay!

    • September 12, 2012 12:22 pm

      LOL Well, I HAVE been riding around on it constantly and showing it off in a most irritating fashion, but I would never block the entrance to the AH or the bank on it. That’s going too far with the rubbing it in other people’s faces.

      I’m sure the novelty will wear off at some point and I’ll start riding mounts that suit my characters’ personalities again. Though my Paladin is pretty vain, so she might continue to ride it.

  5. September 12, 2012 10:44 am

    Wow! Grats! It’s a beauty! 😀

  6. September 12, 2012 2:35 pm

    Woooooooooooooooooooow! Congrats!!!! 😀

  7. corhi permalink
    September 12, 2012 10:23 pm

    Congratulations! 🙂

  8. September 13, 2012 11:23 pm

    OMG! Jealous!

  9. September 14, 2012 3:59 pm

    Awesome mount one I want for my collection for sure!
    Grats!

  10. September 16, 2012 3:00 am

    WHOOO! OMG congrats you lucky devil you! Excuse me while I just envy you and your mount /grin

  11. Haza permalink
    October 17, 2012 4:12 am

    Congratulations man! I just got mine soloing the place for the first time, my jaw hit the floor when i opened the loot and ashes was there 😀 Don’t give up people!

Trackbacks

  1. 500th Post « Amateur Azerothian

Leave a Reply

