Skip to content

The Post I Didn’t Know How to Write

September 14, 2012

Sometimes things happen that I’m not sure how to write about, or even if I should write about them at all.  I’m somewhat cautious about what I say in a public place like this blog.  However, sometimes if I don’t write about something important it prevents me from writing about other things, because the thing that I’m not writing about affects so many aspects of my WoW life.  So if I suddenly go quiet and stop posting it might be because I’m struggling to figure out what to say about something.

About two months ago, I changed guilds.  Eagle-eyed readers will have already noticed that my guild tag changed in the screenshots I’ve posted.  Long-time readers might be surprised, because I’ve posted many times before about my old guild, Electric Mayhem, talking about our many successes and about being their recruiting officer.

The thing is, I love Electric Mayhem, and I’m very proud of what I helped build there.  It’s a great guild, run by awesome people, and I believe it fills an important niche on our server: a raiding guild with a good social atmosphere that manages solid progression on a two night per week schedule.  (All the other raiding guilds on our server raid at least three nights per week last I checked.)  It was really difficult to leave them.

So then why did I leave?  Well, I play WoW for two primary reasons: to play with friends and to raid.  Specifically, I love progression raiding.  Sometimes those two motivations for playing are at odds with each other… Do I play with friends knowing that I won’t be able to push progression, or do I play for progression even if it means playing with people I barely know?

At the end of the Firelands tier, four of my best friends left Electric Mayhem because one of their old friends (who I didn’t know) had transferred his guild to our server.  They didn’t leave because there was anything wrong with EM — in fact they left on good terms and are still friends with many EM people — but they had been four of our best players and their departure left the EM raid team in a bad state.  Personally, their departure upset me pretty severely, causing me to consider leaving the game entirely, and it took a while for my friendship with them to recover… but that’s a long story.  Suffice to say that in the end it meant that I had about half my best friends in EM and half in That Guild.

The EM raid team struggled through Dragon Soul.  It was difficult to replace those who had left, and even combining both our raid teams didn’t result in a solid roster.  We went from having the same 10 people every week to having a completely different team from day to day, sometimes having to train new people up from scratch, resetting our progression.  We were especially short on quality healers, and it sometimes felt like I was trying to single-handedly keep everyone alive.  It didn’t help that my heart just wasn’t into recruiting at the time.  I didn’t feel like there was much point when everything I’d spent months to build could be wiped out in a day.

Dragon Soul was a terrible tier for me.  There was the stress of keeping the raid team going.  I was not impressed with the design of the encounters themselves.  I was personally finding the fights too easy, but we weren’t making any progress, so I started becoming frustrated, negative and resentful, which certainly wasn’t helping the team.  (Sorry guys!)  And when we got to the point of working on heroics it turned out that my expectations for progression were different from the expectations of those around me.

You see, over the years I have become increasingly “hard core” (for lack of a better term).  What I enjoy most about raiding at the moment is pushing myself to become as good as I can be.  I want to see how far I can go.  I want to find out where my limits are.  If a boss exists, I want to kill it (preferably before it’s nerfed).  I don’t know if I’m good enough to do serious progression raiding, but I’d like to find out.

But that’s not what most people want out of raiding.  Which is perfectly legitimate.  There are many ways to play this game, none of which are “wrong”, despite what the elitists may tell you.  It turns out that what I want out of raiding isn’t what my friends in EM want out of raiding, and by pushing for better progression I was causing tension.  I was asking people to do something they didn’t want to do.  While I was bored out of my skull and feeling horribly frustrated farming normal Deathwing each week, they were perfectly content with normal, and were maybe even ready to take a break from raiding entirely.

EM is never going to be a “hard core” guild.  It was never intended to be one.  I knew that when I joined.  I was, in fact, warned specifically by the guild leader (who is also one of my best friends) that I would probably not get the progression I wanted there.  And I told myself I was ok with that because I’d be raiding with friends.  I was choosing friends over progression.

But half of my best friends were now in That Guild.  And TG may not be going for world or server firsts, but they were experiencing much better progression than EM.  In fact, they were 8/8 Heroic Dragon Soul.  And they were considering adding a Resto/Boomkin Druid to their roster.  In retrospect… maybe I should have made the move sooner.

The move was made easier by the fact that when I talked to the EM guild leaders about it they told me that they already knew that I would be happier in a more progression oriented guild, and joked that they had been taking bets on when I would leave, and that I had stayed a lot longer than they had thought I would.  Also, it turns out that one of them plans to stop raiding pretty much entirely in MoP, so if I stayed I wouldn’t be raiding with him anyway.  I still feel bad and a little guilty for leaving… but I think I made the right decision.

And since joining TG I have been a lot happier.  I’m raiding with old friends.  We’re fired up with plans for MoP.  And let me just say that farming Heroic Deathwing feels a lot more satisfying than farming him on normal.

But I still really love EM, and I hope that they continue to grow and have success in MoP as well.

Anyway, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, here’s a shot of me on my heroic Deathwing mount!  😀

Still not sure if I should actually hit the submit button… Oh well.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 2:54 pm

    I had a similar issue when I left my alliance guild and made the move to SR back in Wrath. Looking back now, it was the right choice.

    I think you will find the same is true for you.

    Good luck with your new guild!

    • September 14, 2012 2:57 pm

      Thanks, Lyssi! I think part of the reason I’ve been happier lately is just the relief of finally having made a decision. I have high hopes for the new guild, but we’ll see what happens in MoP!

  2. September 14, 2012 5:23 pm

    Sounds like you’ve got the best of both – still got good friends, and hardcore raiding to boot – good luck!
    Someday I’d like to give it shot myself (when I’m much, much better!)

    • September 14, 2012 6:04 pm

      At the moment it does feel like I have the best of both worlds, though I still wish I could have ALL my friends in the same guild. (I’m greedy that way.) 🙂 It sucks to have to choose between them when I want to play with everyone.

  3. JD Kenada permalink
    September 14, 2012 7:48 pm

    As a guild leader, the last thing I want is my members to be miserable. The same goes for a friend. I had someone who was both, and he is an “envelope pusher” when it comes to raiding and I’ve always understood that. He knows his class, knows his role, and does everything the way a hardcore player will. He’s also got toons in my guild and I know that has to put a knot in his stomach. Forget progression, we don’t even raid. We’ve always been a social guild, though we made effort sometimes to change that. The wheels just fell off every time.

    So, it was interesting when he would pull his Mage from our guild and then it seems he’d feel a bit awkward when talking to me about it. I know him, and I know frmo that perspective no matter how much fun Claws is that it will never be what he needs as a gamer. He’s kept alts with us, but his main toon absolutely needs to be raiding. I get that and would never begrudge him or anyone else for that matter. Guild leaders should always understand their members and what they want versus what the guild offers. As long as they understand those things, then they’ll have a good hand on the pulse of the players and will know when someone needs to seek satisfaction elsewhere. Sounds like Electric Mayhem have good guild leaders if you ask me.

    • September 14, 2012 8:54 pm

      Oh, EM definitely has good guild leaders. They put a lot of thought into forming the guild and writing up policies before they even bought a charter. I was privileged to be in on some of the pre-planning and have an alt as a founding member, so I had a lot of input into the direction of the guild from the beginning. I felt a lot of ownership regarding EM, and I still very much believe in their mandate, (so to speak), which is why leaving was so very difficult. I still have alts there, and I probably will as long as EM exists.

      Both of the EM guild leaders have been very understanding and supportive, and we remain in contact both in and out of game. I know they probably hate to lose me, but they definitely don’t begrudge my leaving. There was a bit of awkwardness at first, but I think our friendships have actually become stronger recently in part because my leaving prompted us to start communicating more outside of game as well.

      In other words, they’re good eggs. 🙂

  4. September 17, 2012 7:20 am

    <—-jealous! That mount is awesome!

    GL to RM and TG in MoP! Both sound like great guilds!

    • September 17, 2012 10:06 am

      Hee hee! Between the Handmaiden and Al’ar I’ve become one of those obnoxious rare mount people! >.>

      • September 17, 2012 11:13 am

        lol indeed you have! Next we will see Khizzara standing on top of the mailbox in org

  5. September 18, 2012 10:19 pm

    Good luck with your new guild Khizz, here’s to many a success in MoP for you!

    And grats on the mount….need…to…ninja….yours, lol.

    • September 18, 2012 11:44 pm

      Thanks, Arv!

      Maybe when we’re all level 90 we can roflstomp heroic Deathwing cross-realm and with any luck he’ll drop mounts for all!

Leave a Reply

