Skip to content

Plushie Lil’ Derpion

May 7, 2014

*tap tap*  This thing on?  *blows dust off of WordPress*

Hi there!  Apparently, I still have a blog.  I’ve just become really, really bad about writing things up.  You see, when something interesting happens or I have some sort of thought, I usually just whisper or IM a couple people about it and then it’s out of my system and I no longer feel like taking the time to type it up.  I know, I know, I’m so very lazy.

But this HAS to be a blog post, because it was inspired by another blogger.  You see, back in February, Kamalia posted about finishing her quest to make little plushies of all the WoW dragon whelplings.  They were so cute and awesome that I wished out loud for a sewing machine so that I could make some too.  My husband was like, “Would you really like a sewing machine?  Would you make stuff with it?”  And I was like, sure!  Why not?  So he totally bought me one for my birthday!  (I think he just wants to encourage me to have more non-gaming hobbies, heh.)  And since Kamalia had kindly posted her whelpling pattern, I was good to go!

Of course, I hadn’t used a sewing machine in decades, so I knew it would take a bit of practice to figure things out.  My plan was to start off with simpler projects, and I did sew together a nice little pillow with a sort of quilted pillowcase, but then I just threw caution to the wind and dove straight into dragon making.

Monster PillowcaseThe mostly completed pillowcase.  I’m far too lazy to go take a photo of the finished product.

Introducing Derpion, Aspect of the Derp Flight!

 

Plush Dragon SittingHe’s sittin’ so pretty for the camera.

Since the little guy is a bit awkward looking, I was going to name him something like Derpy, or Derptar, or Derpistrasz.  When I mentioned this to Prinnie, she yelled, “DERPION! Aspect of the Derp Flight!”   Which is far too perfect, I must agree.  So little Derpion he is.

Anyway, because I knew my first attempt was probably going to really suck, I didn’t want to use very expensive fabric.  So I just bought the cheapest cotton I could find to make a practice dragon.  And yeah… I made quite a few mistakes and there are a number of things I’d do differently next time.

Plush Dragon SidesHanging out with himself and showing off his side views.

First of all, I didn’t read Kamalia’s instructions very closely or study her photos to see how she’d done things.  I had a pattern, what more did I need?!  So I uh, totally didn’t notice that she hadn’t included seam allowances on the pattern.  >.<  So the body and hind legs turned out smaller than they would have been otherwise.  I finally noticed the lack of a seam allowance when I tried to sew his little front legs and my sewing machine tried to eat them.  I had to redo those and allow for a proper seam, so his front legs are proportionately bigger than his hind legs, at least compared to Kamalia’s whelps.  I also re-drew the wings to include allowance for both the seam and the pipe cleaner armature-thing.

Secondly, I forgot to add the little top piece for his head.  I don’t think it’s noticeable unless you know it’s supposed to be there though.  His head is just smaller and narrower than it should be.  I think it looks a bit more like a dinosaur or a turkey vulture this way.

Thirdly, I kept getting better as I went along, so the second of each pair of legs/wings turned out better than the first one, and usually slightly larger too.  It’s especially noticeable in his wings.

Plush Dragon TopThe left wing is clearly better constructed than the right wing.  Poor lop-sided Derpion!

Fourthly, I wasn’t sure how the feet were supposed to be sewn together, so I tried two different versions on the front and the back legs.  I’m not sure which I like better.  There’s probably an even better way to do them that I just don’t know about.

Finally, I had no idea how Kamalia had intended to sew the limbs on, so I kinda just made it up.  I used buttons to attach them, which makes them semi-poseable.

Plush Dragon WindowSuch a big world for such a little dragon.

However, there are some things that I think work well.  The quilting-type thing I did on the wings looks pretty good.  The zig-zag stitching in particular helps give the wings a bit of texture that I like.  The semi-poseable legs are also pretty cool, in my opinion.

I’m sure I’ll try again using different fabric and trying different techniques.  I may even look up how to do things next time!

 Plush Dragon Wants Out SmallTime to fly?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2014 2:56 pm

    Awww, he’s adorable! I love the quilted effect in the wings, and the buttons for the eyes and attaching the limbs are so cute!
    Also, huzzah for a sewing machine of your own!

    • May 7, 2014 2:59 pm

      Yay! I’m glad you like him! He’s not nearly as nice or as detailed as yours, but hopefully I will improve.

  2. May 7, 2014 3:20 pm

    I actually really like the buttons! He definitely has personality.

    And it’s funny that you say Prinnie named him. I did mention when you told me about him that she’s the first person that comes to mind when I hear or see ‘derp’ anywhere. xD

    • May 7, 2014 3:26 pm

      Thanks! And I agree — what he lacks in symmetry he makes up in personality!

      i strongly associate the word “derp” with Prinnie too, so little Derpion will always remind me of her too.

      • May 8, 2014 8:30 am

        Let’s see … people have totally mentioned “derp,” “sheeyit” and “ogod [insert thing here]” to me, so, yeah, sounds about right. 😀

  3. May 7, 2014 4:23 pm

    Derpion! The Master of Flight! I love the buttons that make him poseable. I can imagine Prinnie riding the skies on his back!

    • May 7, 2014 5:29 pm

      Thank you! I’m not sure how comfortable it would be to ride him, what with his lopsided wings. There might be a lot of flying in circles…

  4. May 8, 2014 1:01 am

    That is so cute! 😀

  5. May 8, 2014 8:28 am

    Imagine how much better the legendary questline would be if you got it from Derpion instead of Wrathion. MUCH IMPROVED YES?

  6. May 14, 2014 12:13 am

    OMG Khizz is ALIVE! And Derpion is so cute! Trust Prinnie to pick a good name! Oh and this Derpion has set my imagination on fire LMAO!

Leave a Reply

