Skip to content

Transmog Week: Day 6 — Kaylira

March 12, 2012

I’m going to pretend that this is still Transmog Week and not the following week for the purposes of completing the series…  >.>

Kaylira

My Holy/Disc Priest Kaylira is wearing another set composed of random pieces I had in the bank or found on the AH.  (Well, mostly.  I did farm up a couple of items specifically.)

This is also the outfit that I’ve had the most comments on from random people in game.  Perhaps it’s because the Tauren model is a nice big canvas, so she gets noticed.  Or perhaps people aren’t used to seeing a Tauren show off so much skin.  Or maybe it’s just because this look is so awesome.

Yeah, let’s go with “awesome”.

The entire look was built around the bracers and belt from the Priest Tier 1 set.  I’d picked them up off the AH thinking I’d farm up the rest of the set someday, but I happened to have a robe in the bank that looked really good with them.  Minstrel suggested Whitemane’s Chapeau as a matching hat, and from that point on it was just a matter of accessorizing.

You might have noticed that the weapon I’m using doesn’t entirely match — in fact, it has a blue stone instead of a red one!  But believe me, the Power Torrent enchant overpowers the weapon, so you won’t even notice the blue.  I actually like the giant ball of fire look, (especially in Shadowform — I really wish I’d taken a picture before I respecced), but I took screenshots without the enchant so you could see the weapon better.  But, for the curious who may want to compare:

So yeah.  The enchant is rather overwhelming.  But this hammer is really lovely otherwise.  Also, I haven’t had this toon very long, and she doesn’t have a lot of weapons to choose from yet.

Here’s the full list of what she’s wearing:

  • Head: Whitemane’s Chapeau.  Is there anyone here who doesn’t know where this drops from?  It is quite possibly the most famous hat in the game.  Just head to Scarlet Monastery: Cathedral and kill High Inquisitor Whitemane if you want one of your own.
  • Shoulders: Felstone Mantle.  Huh.  I just noticed these are the same model as the shoulders Whitemane wears.  Go me for making unintentionally appropriate gear choices!  Anyway, I really like this shoulder model.  It looks great and isn’t freakishly large.  It’s also a very common model that is available in a wide variety of colors.  The Felstone Mantle itself is a drop from Morcrush, a rare spawn in Blade’s Edge, but you can also look for either a Starfire Mantle or Bloodwoven Pads on the AH.  Alternatively, you might find a tailor who can make Crimson Silk Shoulders, or you can kill Balnazzar in Stratholme for a Shroud of the Nathrezim.
  • Back: Dyed Taffeta Cape.  This is another very beautiful, but very common, model.  The version I’m wearing is a green-quality BoE world drop, but there are literally dozens of look-alikes available, including some available in limited quantity from vendors.  I’m not going to list them all.  Suffice to say that it shouldn’t be hard for you to get your hands on one.
  • Chest: Robe of Evocation.  Another piece that should be easy to farm at max level, since it drops from Jergosh the Invoker in Ragefire Chasm.  Well, easy for Horde at max level.  I suppose it might be a pain to run through Org to get to the entrance if you play Alliance.  If you’d rather not corpse run through Org, look for a Ritual Shroud on the AH.

Actually, an alternative chest piece that looks very similar is the Red Linen Robe, which can be made by Tailors (as long as they have the pattern).  It’s not as revealing as the Robe of Evocation, which might appeal to the modesty of some players.  When I opened my mail the other day I found that Minstrel had sent one to me along with some other pretty transmog gear, (Yay! Surprise presents!), so here’s a screenshot with the alternate robe:

You might say that the Red Linen Robe is what the Robe of Evocation looked like when it was new and before it was damaged in a terrible fire…

Anyway, back to the list:

  • Bracers: Vambraces of Prophecy.  These beautiful bracers drop from trash mobs in Molten Core and are part of the Priest Tier 1 raid set.  Sadly, if you wear a robe with long sleeves, including the Priest Tier 1 robes, you can’t see the bracers.  It’s nice that they’re visible on this outfit.  (Of course, they won’t be if you go with a Red Linen Robe.)  They are BoE, so you might find them on the AH if you don’t want to run MC.
  • Hands: Gloves of the Blood Prince.  These drop from Prince Taldaram in Ahn’kahet: The Old Kingdom, but there’s no need for you to get these gloves specifically.  There are many short black gloves available that look just like these, so your best bet is to check the AH for something similar.  The point of using the short black gloves is to keep the bracers visible.
  • Waist: Girdle of Prophecy.  Like the bracers, these drop from trash mobs in Molten Core, and are part of the Priest Tier 1 gear.  Since they are also BoE you might be able to find them on the AH.

  • Mace: Hand of Righteousness.  While you’re farming High Inquisitor Whitemane for her chapeau you might as well pick up one of these too, since she drops both.
  • Off-Hand: Air Raid Beacon.  I’m a little surprised to discover that this is a unique model that is only available from two quests, one for each faction.  I thought for sure there would be a million look-alikes.  The Horde quest is “Krazz Works!” in Twilight Highlands.  Alliance players get an identical off-hand with a different name, the Skyflight Beacon, which is rewarded when you complete “Doing It Like a Dunwald” in Twilight Highlands.  If you can’t get either of those, you might be able to use Globe of Moonlight, which is one of the rewards from opening up the Molten Front.  (I considered using it because the white color would match the silver of the mace.)  Otherwise, you’ll have to be creative in coming up with another matching off-hand.
  • Wand: Touch of Light.  This isn’t shown in any of my screenshots, but I’m saving it for future transmog use in Mist of Pandaria when wands are supposedly going to be main-hand weapons.  I think it looks very lovely with this outfit.

Well, there we have it!  Transmog Week is over.  I hope you’ve enjoyed all the outfits!  It was fun creating all the screenshots.  🙂  However, blogging every day is really difficult and time consuming.  I don’t know how people manage to do it and my respect for those that do has increased ten-fold.  I’m going to take a short break but don’t worry — I have a few good posts planned, so stay tuned.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 7:43 pm

    Loooove this outfit! Thanks for putting this together!

  2. March 13, 2012 1:18 pm

    …..

    You are making me want to either – change my belf to a cow now…or lvl a new cow priest…

    that outfit is fabulous!

  3. March 15, 2012 10:47 pm

    TAUREN BOOBS.

    That is all.

  4. June 17, 2012 11:05 pm

    YES! This is awesome!! Nice job!!

Leave a comment