Skip to content

Oh No, Not Again…

October 10, 2011

I’ve finally been leveling up Khizzara, my Goblin Mage.  Yeah, I adopted her name as my user name for this blog and then abandoned her at level 26 while I ran off and leveled my Priest.  You see, although I was really enjoying blowing shit up as a Mage, I had just finished leveling my Worgen Hunter and didn’t feel like leveling another pure DPS class right away.  The siren song of Priest heals was calling me, and I was too weak to resist temptation.  But now my Priest Kaylira has been level 85 for a few weeks.  She’s pretty much geared up and has even been raiding with our second group occasionally — she’s come close to downing Ragnaros on normal mode already.  This means my mage has finally been getting the love she deserves.

Khizzara dinged 58 two days ago.  My first thought was, “Yay!  She’s ready for Outland!”

My second thought was, “Oh, God… No.  Not Outland.  Anywhere but Outland!”  😦

I am now facing the grim prospect of either questing through Hellfire Peninsula for the 6th time or running Hellfire Ramparts approximately 92 times in a row.  (Followed by Auchenai Crypts 87 time in a row, natch.)  And oh God, all the level 58 DK tanks who think Death Grip is supposed to be used for every pull and don’t have access to Death and Decay yet.  And then the level 60 DK tanks who have Death and Decay but never remember to use it.  And each pug group shall also have at least one Frost DK in Blood Presence spamming Howling Blast.  (And every DPS DK in Blood Presence does know how to use D&D + Blood Boil to grab aggro for some reason…)

Urgh, maybe I can just stay in the lowlands.  How long do you think it would take me to reach 70 if I just ran around Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms?  I could get Loremaster while I’m at it.

Uck, but then at 70 I have to go to Northrend again.  And at 80 I have to do Hyjal again… or maybe Vashjir if I don’t care about getting access to Molten Front dailies…  But I’d still have to do Deepholm.  Oh God, not Therazane again!

Hmm… I still haven’t leveled a Shaman, Warlock or Rogue yet…  Where’s that character creation screen?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 11:32 am

    Awww … you know, I know this level 58 blood DK that just happens to be on your server and .. hey, look at that, he’s even in your guild! I bet you wouldn’t have to twist my arm very hard to get me to tank a few Ramps for ya. Couple of glyphs and he’ll be ready to go.

    • October 10, 2011 11:43 am

      OMG! I totally forgot about your DK! Yay! We could totally queue together and run Ramps eleventybillion times together.

      Also, Averry has a Paladin at level 57 so he could join us too. (Though you’d have to fight over who gets to tank, because I know he’s specced Prot.) This might not be as bad as I feared.

      • October 10, 2011 3:17 pm

        Actually … if I get my butt in gear … my holy pally is 42. Arv distracted me with tanking stuff yesterday, but I could totally get to Outland before very long if I stop alt hopping for a bit.

  2. October 10, 2011 12:09 pm

    I have a level 58 DK too though I’d much rather dps than tank.

    • October 10, 2011 1:11 pm

      We should all level together, it would be much more fun!

    • October 10, 2011 3:19 pm

      Oh sweet! I didn’t know Brony was a blogger too! See, now you guys are giving me all *kinds* of reasons to log in over there more often.

      • October 10, 2011 6:46 pm

        Yeah, I totally forgot to give her a promo post. Oops. I should do that…

  3. October 10, 2011 12:31 pm

    Hello 🙂 Liked your post. So agree with you – every milestone in WoW when you’re on your alts seems to be followed by an area/set of dungeons you’d rather not do again. Or at least not the amount of times you end up doing it – never seen a dungeom so many times as Hellfire Rampants but at least it’s short. Perhaps the answer rather than levelling a new alt is to try doing them differently – run round backwards or something. Suspect some kicking out might be the result though!

    • October 10, 2011 1:14 pm

      LOL, yeah, have to find some way to spice it up. I’m not sure it’s even possible to run Ramps backwards though… Hmm.

  4. October 10, 2011 5:50 pm

    Worst zones: Hellfire Peninsula, Dragonblight, Deepholm. Not in that order.

    I actually don’t mind Outlands, I usually look forward to it as it’s pretty quick and I end up dinging 68 usually around the time I’m just peeking into Nagrand or Blade’s Edge. I find Outlands goes so fast it’s not that bad. And at least it’s way easier to get to Outlands than it is to get to Northrend.

    • October 10, 2011 6:48 pm

      I love Nagrand! I wish I could just start there… I actually stayed in Winterspring to finish up the quests there and then a guildie gave me a run through MC, so Khizzara has dinged 60 and is wearing about half purples at the moment. I’m hoping I can now skip Hellfire and just jump into the Zangarmarsh quests.

    • October 11, 2011 8:34 am

      I don’t really mind Hellfire. I don’t love it, either, but it’s ok.

      Dragonblight .. it depends. I mean, if you’re Alliance there’s the whole Wintergarde hub, and you get to help BOLVAR kill a lich at the end. It’s awesome! Ok fine, you have to suffer through some icky vehicle quests to get that far … then there’s the flashback stuff on the Forgotten Shore, and of course Wrathgate … lorewise, it’s a super zone. But I can see how you wouldn’t want to play through it multiple times.

      Poor Deepholm gets no love. It has PEBBLE! And it’s a nice big round circle … I love doing mining laps around it. But that’s ok, you guys keep hatin’ and just leave all the ore to me, that’s fine. ^.^

      • October 11, 2011 11:16 am

        I actually have always liked Dragonblight, simply because it led to the Wrathgate and the Battle for Undercity, which were two of the most moving experiences for me leveling up my main. I always made sure to do it on all my other toons. I’m still upset with Blizzard for removing the Battle for UC.

      • October 11, 2011 12:32 pm

        Yeah, that questline lost at least half of its epicness with the actual Battle removed. I was fortunate enough to get to do it on both factions during Wrath though.

Leave a comment